Wallabies return to Waratahs for Newcastle trial


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Head Coach Chris Hickey has named a strong 28-man squad for the Waratahs second trial of 2009, featuring a number of internationals lining up for their first match of the season.

Ten players who featured for the Wallabies on the Spring Tour of Europe in 2008 will have their first hit-out of the year when they take on the Fiji Warriors on Friday night in Newcastle.

‘The pre-season is all about escalating your program each week so you continue to build into round one and this week is another step in that direction,’ said Hickey. ‘We played the Fiji Warriors on the Development Tour in October and we only came away with a narrow win, so we know we’re going to have to be on top of our game to get the result we’re after.

‘We came out of the Reds trial with a few things to work on and we’ll continue to do that in the lead-up to Friday’s match.’

The squad includes ten capped Wallabies in the starting line-up, with another two named on the bench for the Waratahs first match at Newcastle since their 2004 trial against the Chiefs.

The Waratahs entered camp yesterday in the Hunter Valley, training at Cessnock during the run-in to Friday’s clash at EnergyAustralia Stadium.

Today’s team announcement also confirmed Phil Waugh as the Waratahs captain for 2009.

‘Phil first captained the Waratahs in 2001 and he’s been a leader within the team ever since,’ said Hickey. ‘His leadership both on and off the field are extremely important to the ongoing success of the team.’

The side includes a number of players who grew up in the area, with Luke Burgess, Jeremy Tilse, Timana Tahu and Daniel Halangahu all named to play in front of plenty of family and friends.

The Waratahs will train against in Cessnock on Thursday before Friday’s clash which kicks off at 7:40pm. A curtain raiser will be played at 5:15pm between traditional rivals Newcastle-Hunter and Central Coast.

Tickets are available through Proticket.

Trial Match
Friday 30 January 2009 (Kick-off 7:40pm AEDT)
EnergyAustralia Stadium, Newcastle


1. Benn Robinson (Eastwood)
2. Tatafu Polota-Nau (Parramatta)
3. Al Baxter (Northern Suburbs)
4. Dean Mumm (Sydney University)
5. Will Caldwell (Sydney University)
6. Ben Mowen (Randwick)
7. Phil Waugh [c] (Sydney University)
8. Scott Fava (Eastwood)
9. Luke Burgess (Eastern Suburbs)
10. Daniel Halangahu (Sydney University)
11. Lote Tuqiri (West Harbour)
12. Tom Carter (Sydney University)
13. Timana Tahu (West Harbour)
14. Peter Playford (Sydney University)
15. Lachie Turner (Eastwood)
16. Adam Freier (Randwick)
17. Jeremy Tilse (Sydney University)
18. Beau Robinson (Warringah)
19. Chris Thomson (Warringah)
20. Jeremy Su’a (Penrith)
21. Sam Norton-Knight (Northern Suburbs)
22. Kurtley Beale (Northern Suburbs)
24. Dan Palmer (Southern Districts)
25. Dave Dennis (Sydney University)
26. Kane Douglas (Southern Districts)
27. Rob Horne (Southern Districts)
28. Pat McCutcheon (Sydney University)
29. Matt Carraro (Randwick)



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.