Waratahs announce squad for Super 14 Final



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


The HSBC Waratahs have named a 24-man touring squad for Saturday’s Super 14 Final against the Crusaders in Christchurch.

Tatafu Polota-Nau and David Lyons return to the selection frame after missing the semifinal through injury, while Sam Harris has also been called into the extended squad.

Assistant Coach Steve Tuynman said the squad reflected the players who had performed for the Waratahs throughout the tournament en route to the 2008 Final.

‘At this stage of the season you don’t want to be making any major changes and you can see that in the 24 guys we’re taking to Christchurch,’ said Tuynman.


‘We get a couple of Test players back this week so if anything it’s probably a stronger squad overall than we had in the semifinal.’

Tuynman said that is many respects this year’s final was one for the purists, with the two best packs in the competition vying for supremacy to lay the platform for victory.

‘There’s no question that the battle up front is going to be huge and it’s going to go a long way to deciding who finishes on top,’ said Tuynman.


‘We’re really happy with the way the pack’s travelling both at set piece and around the field in general play, but it’s something else to be able to get on top of the Crusaders forwards in Christchurch in a finals match.

‘That said, we know what we have to do, we have the guys we think can do it so it’s a matter of putting the plan into action on Saturday; getting on the front foot and taking control of the match.’

The squad will fly to Christchurch on Wednesday morning ahead of Saturday’s clash.

‘Wednesday’s usually our training free day so it keeps the guys in the same routine we’ve had since coming back from Africa,’ said Tuynman.


‘It’s important in a week like this you keep everything as normal as possible and apart from fitting in the flight, everything’s business as usual.’

HSBC Waratahs 2008 Super 14 Final Squad

Backs (11): Kurtley Beale, Luke Burgess, Matt Carraro, Tom Carter, Sam Harris, Rob Horne, Sam Norton-Knight, Brett Sheehan, Timana Tahu, Lote Tuqiri, Lachie Turner.
Forwards (13): Al Baxter, Will Caldwell, Matt Dunning, Rocky Elsom, Adam Freier, David Lyons, Dean Mumm, Wycliff Palu, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Beau Robinson, Benn Robinson, Dan Vickerman, Phil Waugh [c].



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.