Waratahs beat Reds away for the first time




The match started off with handbags from both sides with ref having to constantly remind they players that the world was watching so they must behave. It took 30 seconds for the first punches to be thrown and then a minute later it started all over again. The crowd spent a lot of time jeering ex Queenslander Wendell Sailor but when Elsom dotted over his try to seal the game for the Waratahs, Sailor told the crowd exactly where to go.

At half time the match was 6 all. Not long after half time Flatley sent two over to make it 12-6 to the Reds. The Reds then had a good spell and the Waratahs seemed to have no answer. Step in Rocky Elsom for the Waratahs who dotted the ball over the line to sink Reds hopes.

Minutes before the whistle Hewat sent a penalty over to make the final score 12 -16 to the Waratahs. All in all the both teams threw everything at it but one team had to win.

The reds ended with a flourish but the Tahs turned it over and Sailor booted the ball out to give the Waratahs their first ever win in the professional era in Queensland.



1. Greg Holmes 2. Sean Hardman 3. Rodney Blake 4. Mark Connors 5. Hugh McMeniman 6. Mitchell Chapman 7. David Croft 8. John Roe 9. Sam Cordingly 10. Berrick Barnes 11. Drew Mitchell 12. Elton Flatley 13. Julian Huxley 14. Tim Atkinson 15. Chris Latham

16. Stephen Moore 17. Tom Court 18. Cameron Treloar 19. Tom McVerry 20. Nic Berry 21. Lloyd Johansson 22. Henari Veratau


1. Matt Dunning 2. Adam Freier 3. Alastair Baxter 4. William Caldwell 5. Daniel Vickerman 6. Rocky Elsom 7. Phil Waugh 8. David Lyons 9. Chris Whitaker 10. Tim Donnelly 11. Peter Hewat 12. Morgan Turinui 13. Lote Tuqiri 14. Wendell Sailor 15. Sam Norton-Knight

16. Tatafu Polota-Nau 17. Benn Robinson 18. Alex Kanaar 19. Wycliff Palu 20. Stephen Hoiles 21. Shaun Berne 22. Daniel Halangahu



Flatley 3


Hewat 3


Hewat 1




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.