Waratahs beat Reds in Brisbane


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Queensland Reds and the New South Wales Waratahs the Reds have won four and the Waratahs one.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Reds kick off and the match is underway.

1.00: The Reds win the ball back after the restart but take the ball out. The Reds win the ball back at the line out and attack.

3.00: Penalty to the Reds. Harris takes the kick and nails it. The Reds lead.

5.00: Penalty to the Waratahs. Bernard Foley hits the post and the ball bounces out. The Reds play the ball but Ben Tapuai concedes a penalty.

7.00: Bernard Foley takes his second shot at the posts and misses again.

8.00: Ben Lucas goes to restart and jumps back in pain as his PCL is pulled. He has to come off and Jamie-Jerry Taulagi comes on to replace him. Harris kicks off and the kick is charged down and then kicked out.

12.00: The Waratahs start to build up their attack in the Reds 22. They go through the phases and then Kurtley Beale slips through and sets up Jono Lance who makes his way to the line and stumbles over and scores. TRY!

13.00: Foley slots the conversion. The Waratahs lead.

15.00: The Waratahs pass the ball freely down the line and they create the overlap and Kurtley Beale gets the ball for a second time and races for the line and scores untouched. TRY!

16.00: Foley adds the conversion. Ben Tapuai looks to have hit his head in a tackle and is down. The game is paused as he is stretchered off.

18.00: The game resumes. The Reds get flying Rod Davies into space and he is tackled by Michael Hooper on the line but loses the ball forward. The TMO confirms.

19.00: 5m Penalty to the Reds. They kick for touch and the line out.

20.00: The Reds win the line out and set up the maul. They drive forward but then go wide. They bring the ball back into the forwards and it slows. The Reds edge the ball closer to the posts.

21.00: The Reds get an advantage and then lose the ball. We go back for the penalty. They kick for touch again.

22.00: The Reds win another penalty as Sekope Kepu came in from the side of the maul. They go for the line out again. The Waratahs defend, turn the ball over and boot it out.

25.00: The Reds are full of attack and forcing the Waratahs to defend. The Reds get the ball back into the Waratahs 22 but the visitors win a line out and kick deep.

28.00: Sekope Kepu and Beau Robinson have a big disagreement. They have to be broken up. The TMO is called in for a high tackle. Hooper tackles Harris but we move on to the scuffle. Sekope Kepu is binned for hair pulling and punching. Penalty to the Reds. Wycliff Palu is lucky as he came in from nowhere just to pull Robinson’s hair.

29.00: The Reds win the line out and the Tahs knock on.  Palu comes off as the Tahs need a hooker replacement due to the yellow card.

32.00: The Reds win a penalty from the Waratahs line out. They kick for touch. The Waratahs turn the ball over and kick it out.

34.00: The TMO is called in as  Rob Simmons goes in low on Tatafu Polota Nau and he gets a warning. The Tahs get a penalty.

36.00: Jono Lance has been replaced by Taqele Naiyaravoro for the Waratahs. The Reds attack down the wing but the last pass goes into touch.

38.00: Penalty to the Waratahs for not releasing the ball. They will kick for posts.

40.00: Foley takes the penalty shot and nails it as the siren sounds. It’s half time.

The half time score was Reds 3 Waratahs 17

The Waratahs kick off and we are underway.

41.00: Adam Ashley-Cooper wins the ball back from the restart and the Waratahs attack in the Reds half. The Reds knock on giving the Waratahs a scrum inside the Reds 22.

42.00: The Waratahs win the scrum but then they concede a penalty. The Reds kick for touch.

46.00: The Waratahs attack in the Reds half but the enter the ruck illegally and concede a penalty. The Reds kick for touch.

48.00: The game is paused as a Waratahs player is down injured. Cam Crawford comes off – possibly for a concussion test.

49.00: The Reds are looking a little more dangerous. They attack down the wing but knock on. Waratahs scrum on their 22.

52.00: Penalty to the Waratahs. Foley takes the shot and nails it.

54.00: Taqele Naiyaravoro makes a break and gets the Waratahs into the Reds 22 after Kurtley Beale chips ahead, the Waratahs keep the ball alive and Beale comes back up in support and goes over for his second TRY!

55.00: Foley slots the conversion. Crawford comes back on.

59.00: Penalty from the scrum to the Waratahs after Jacques Potgieter comes on. They kick for touch.

60.00: The TMO is called in again for a forward pass and tackle. Sam Johnson is yellow carded for a dangerous tackle.

61.00: The Waratahs take the line out but then concede a penalty to the Reds for obstruction. They choose the line out.

65.00: Jamie-Jerry Taulagi slips straight through the Waratahs defence but just gets caught and holds on to the ball too long. The Waratahs turn the ball over and the Reds knock on.

69.00: The Waraths work the ball from side to side going through 7 phases but then they are stopped for a penalty. McKibbin takes the quick tap.

70.00: The Reds turn the ball over and attack down the wing. Samu Kerevi and Rod Davies break but then Kerevi turns over possession to the Waratahs who kick the ball out.

73.00: Taqele Naiyaravoro  makes break down the wing and Nick Phipps follows up in support and races for the corner and scores. TRY! Phipps. Bonus point.

74.00: Foley slots the conversion from the corner flag.

78.00: Ben Daley comes off with a shoulder/arm injury for the Reds.

79.00: The Reds have a line out in the Waratahs 22. The line out is however not straight. Waratahs scrum. They win the scrum and kick the ball out.

That’s it. Waratahs win.

The full time score is Reds 3 (3) Waratahs 34 (17)


Tries –
Pen – M.Harris
Con –
Drop –
Cards – Sam Johnson (60th min yellow)

Tries – J.Lance, K.Beale 2, N. Phipps.
Pen – B.Foley 2
Con – B.Foley 4
Drop –
Cards – S.Kepu (28th min yellow)

Match Officials
Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1: Matt O’Brien
Assistant Ref 2: Damien Mitchelmore
TMO:George Ayoub



1. James Slipper, 2. James Hanson, 3. Greg Holmes, 4. Rob Simmons, 5. James Horwill (C), 6. Curtis Browning, 7. Beau Robinson, 8. Jake Schatz, 9. Scott Gale (run-on debut), 10. Ben Lucas, 11. Lachie Turner, 12. Ben Tapuai, 13. Samu Kerevi, 14. Rod Davies, 15. Mike Harris

Replacements : 16. Saia Fainga’a, 17. Ben Daley, 18. Albert Anae, 19. Dave McDuling, 20. Liam Gill (potential 50th Queensland cap), 21. Sam Johnson, 22. Jamie-Jerry Taulagi, 23. Chris Kuridrani (potential debut)


1. Benn Robinson , 2.Tatafu Polota Nau , 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Will Skelton 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Stephen Hoiles , 7. Michael Hooper (c), 8. Wycliff Palu , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Rob Horne , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper , 14. Alofa Alofa , 15. Cam Crawford .

Replacements (one to be omitted): 16. Tolu Latu , 17. Jeremy Tilse , 18. Michael Ala’alatoa , 19. Jacques Potgieter , 20. Mitchell Chapman , 21. Pat McCutcheon , 22. Brendan McKibbin , 23. Jono Lance , 24.Taqele Naiyaravoro .

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.