Super Rugby

Waratahs bowl Reds over at the SCG




The Waratahs continued their hoodoo over the Reds, beating them 37-16 at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

A Try from Jake Gordon, two from Taqele Naiyaravoro and Harry Johnson-Holmes decided the game, extending the Waratahs’ winning streak to eight over their fierce rivals.

It is the Sydney side’s highest points tally against the Brisbane team in the tournament, outscoring them four tries to one.

Filipo Daugunu crossed for the Reds only try of the game in the first fixture at the famous old ground since 1983.

This was the first time since 2013 that the Reds have scored more than 10 points against the Waratahs, yet it still was not enough to leave with a victory.

Bernard Foley was flawless from the kicking tee, passing 100 points in this fixture.

The standoff kicked seven from seven for a match haul of 20 points.

Tahs controlled the majority of the first-half.

Daryl Gibson’s men had most of the play, certainly the better of the territory and possession.

Naiyaravolo went close in the 11th-minute, but Filipo Daugunu’s last-ditch tackle saved the day, dislodging the ball from the winger’s hands.

Foley kicked two penalties before James Tuttle halved the deficit at 6-3 after 25 minutes.

The score was close, but three minutes’ before the break, the home team finally made their superiority count.

It came from James Tuttle kicking away possession to Kurtly Beale, who started the counter-attack.

Michael Wells beat the outside defence, slipping Samu Kerevi’s tackle before offloading to Gordon.

The halfback collected Wells’ pass and was over for the derby’s first try.

There was time for Tuttle to double his team’s lead before the hooter.

Naiyaravolo turns on the style.

The second-half started well for the Reds, who put together eight phases inside the Waratahs’ 22.

Although they did not cross the try-line, they came away with points.

Tuttle’s third penalty made it 13-9, keeping his side in touching distance.

Whatever Reds coach Brad Thorn said at the interval, it worked.

His side cane surging back and starting to get a foothold in the game, especially the scrum.

Then disaster struck. Jono Lance’s stray pass was intercepted by Naiyaravolo and the 123-kilogram flyer put on the afterburners and sped away.

Foley added another three points from the tee, extending the lead.

Hope leads to despair.

The Reds, despite trailing by two converted tries, they were having the better of possession and territory.

They had gone seven or more phases six times while the Waratahs had not managed the fabled stat, once.

It soon paid dividends when Daugunu scored a 59th-minute try to reduce the game to one score, going into the final quarter.

It gave the Reds hope. But as the old Italian proverb states: “the man who lives his life in hope will die in despair.”

Alex Mafi’s errant throwing would prove costly. Two poor throws came inside Tahs’ territory and in good attacking positions.

The substitute hooker over-threw one and two, skew, gifting the ball back to the enemy.

Naiyaravoro scored his second, and seventh in his last four matches, two minutes’ later.

The 28-year-old try machine barged over the whitewash. It was after eight phases of bashing at the Red wall, using the quick ball for the fourth try.

There was still time for Johnson-Holmes to pick and drive over the whitewash for his first Super Rugby try after the hooter sounded.

This defeat is Queensland’s 12th in their last 14 Super Rugby Australian derbies.

Waratahs versus Reds video highlights.

Final score: Waratahs 37 (13) Reds 16 (6)


Tries – Gordon, Naiyaravoro (2), Johnson-Holmes
Pen – Foley (3)
Con – Foley (4)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Daugunu
Pen – Tuttle (3)
Con – Lance
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 2: James Leckie
TMO: George Ayoub



15 Bryce Hegarty, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Will Miller, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Tom Robertson.

Replacements: 16 Hugh Roach, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Jed Holloway, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Lalakai Foketi, 23 Cameron Clark.


15 Aidan Toua, 14 Filipo Daugunu, 13 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Izaia Perese, 10 Jono Lance, 9 James Tuttle, 8 Caleb Timu, 7 Liam Wright, 6 Lukhan Tui, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Ruan Smith, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 James Slipper (captain).

Replacements: 16 Alex Mafi, 17 Jean-Pierre Smith, 18 Sef Fa’agase, 19 Adam Korczyk, 20 Angus Scott-Young, 21 Tate McDermott, 22 Hamish Stewart, 23 Jordan Petaia

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.