Super Rugby

Waratahs bring in new faces for Western Force




Waratahs Super rugby head coach Rob Penney has named his team for their first home match of the season when they take on the Western Force.

Head Coach, Rob Penney has added three new faces to his starting XV, rewarding some impressive performers off the bench from the opening two matches.

Dave Porecki, the former London Irish hooker who signed with the Waratahs in 2020, replaces Tom Horton, while vice-captain Hugh Sinclair gets his first start of the season, replacing Jack Whetton in the second row.

Wallaby Angus Bell has been ruled out with an ankle injury but is replaced by another Wallaby, with Te Tera Faulkner starting at loosehead.

The backrow remains the same as last week, with “bruise brothers” Carlo Tizzano and Lachlan Swinton joining forces with Jack Dempsey.

There has been one positional change in the backline with Jack Maddocks shifting to the wing, with Mark Nawaqanitawase taking over at fullback.

Tepai Moeroa returns to the home of his former NRL club at Bankwest Stadium at inside centre, partnering captain Alex Newsome.

Jack Grant, after an impressive first start in a Waratahs jersey, remains at scrumhalf combining with playmaker Will Harrison.

Chris Talakai is a new face on the bench and is in line to play his first match of the season for the NSW Waratahs.


Tetera Faulkner, Dave Porecki, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Sam Caird, Hugh Sinclair, Lachlan Swinton, Carlo Tizzano, Jack Dempsey, Jack Grant, Will Harrison, James Ramm, Tepai Moeroa, Alex Newsome (c), Jack Maddocks, Mark Nawaqanitawase

Replacements: Tom Horton, Sio Tatola, Chris Talakai, Jack Whetton, Jeremy Williams, Henry Robertson, Tane Edmed, Triston Reilly

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.