Super Rugby

Waratahs change the pack for Sharks



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


Waratahs head coach Daryl Gibson has named his Super rugby team to play the Sharks at Kings Park on Saturday with a new second row combination and backrow trio.

Ned Hanigan will partner Tom Staniforth at lock and Michael Wells moves from No 8 to blindside flank with Jed Holloway starting at the back of the scrum.

Three players on the bench are set to make their NSW Waratahs Super Rugby debut: front rower Kalivati Tawake, loose forward Will Miller and halfback Mitch Short.

NSW Waratahs coach Daryl Gibson said: “We have reviewed the Stormers game and focused on some key areas of our game this week, including our ability to get out of our territory quicker while at the same time working on ways to negate the Sharks’ strength areas.

“Last week’s win showed we have character and purpose as a team and even though there were some shaky moments, it was encouraging to see the team pull through a tight and physical match. We are looking to build on the character and positive attitude that was shown last week.”

NSW Waratahs

1. Tom Robertson , 2. Damien Fitzpatrick , 3. Paddy Ryan , 4. Ned Hanigan , 5. Tom Staniforth , 6. Michael Wells , 7. Michael Hooper (c) , 8. Jed Holloway , 9. Jake Gordon, 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Curtis Rona , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Lalakai Foketi, 14. Andrew Kellaway , 15. Israel Folau

.Replacements: 16. Hugh Roach , 17. Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18. Kalivati Tawake , 19. Nick Palmer , 20. Will Miller, 21. Mitch Short , 22. Bryce Hegarty , 23. Alex Newsome

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.