Waratahs claim thrilling Derby


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Emirates Western Force were beaten 17-12 by the Waratahs in yet another close encounter at Perth’s Subiaco Oval.

The visitors scored two tries to nil in front of 22,287 vocal fans.The Waratahs kicked off the scoring with a penalty goal to Kurtley Beale in the fourth minute.

The scores were levelled in the 19th minute with a penalty goal from the Emirates Western Force flyhalf Matt Giteau.

Giteau was stretchered from the ground soon after an attempted tackle on Sam Norton Knight knocked him out. The crowd honoured Giteau with a standing ovation when he walked back into the stadium at the half time break to join his team mates in the changerooms.

A try to outside centre Rob Horne in the 26th minute gave the Waratahs a 10-3 lead.

The home side closed the margin to 10-9 at half time after fullback Cameron Shepherd slotted penalties in the 32nd and 39th minutes.

The second half was a dour affair, with no change in the score until Shepherd kicked his third penalty in the 64th minute.

The Waratahs responded with a try eight minutes later after Lote Tuqiri’s grubber bounced off Shepherd into the waiting arms of Lachie Turner, who raced 25 metres to score in the corner. Beale’s conversion gave the ‘Tahs a 17-12 lead.

The final five minutes was filled with tension, as the home side sent wave after wave of attack at the NSW defence, which was down a man after Adam Freier was issued a yellow card.

It was to no avail, as the ‘Tahs held strong and claimed the victory.


Minute by Minute.

4th Min: Penalty Goal to the Waratahs kicked by Kurtley Beale. Waratahs lead 3-0
19th Min: Penalty Goal to the Emirates Western Force kicked by Matt Giteau. 3-all
24th Min: Emirates Western Force – Lachlan Mackay replaces Matt Giteau
26th Min: Try to Waratahs scored by Rob Horne. Successful conversion by Beale. Waratahs lead 10-3
32nd Min: Penalty Goal to the Emirates Western Force kicked by Cameron Shepherd. Waratahs lead 10-6
38th Min: Waratahs – Matt Carraro replaces Tom Carter
39th Min: Penalty Goal to Emirates Western Force kicked by Shepherd. Waratahs lead 10-9

HALF TIME SCORE: Emirates Western Force 9 Waratahs 10

41st Min: Waratahs – Al Baxter replaces Matt Dunning
51st Min: Waratahs – Adam Freier replaces Tatafu Polota-Nau
53rd Min: Waratahs – Beau Robinson replaces Phil Waugh
55th Min: Emirates Western Force – AJ Whalley replaces Troy Takiari
60th Min: Emirates Western Force – Sam Wykes replaces Tom Hockings. Luke Holmes replaces Tai McIsaac
64th Min: Penalty Goal to Emirates Western Force kicked by Shepherd. Emirates Western Force lead 12-10
65th Min: Waratahs – Brett Sheehan replaces Luke Burgess. Matt Dunning replaces Benn Robinson
69th Min: Emirates Western Force – James Stannard replaces Chris O’Young. Waratahs – Alfi Mafi replaces Sam Norton Knight
72nd Min: Try to Waratahs scored by Lachie Turner. Converted by Beale. Waratahs lead 17-12.
73rd Min: Emirates Western Force ‘ Troy Takiari and Matt Hodgson replace Pek Cowan and David Pocock.
75th Min: Emirates Western Force ‘ Haig Sare replaces Nick Cummins
81st Min: Yellow car to Adam Freier of the Waratahs

FULL TIME: Emirates Western Force 12 Waratahs 17

Emirates Western Force 12 (Shepherd 3 pens, Giteau pen)
Waratahs 17 (Horne, Turner tries; Beale 2 cons, pen)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.