Waratahs hold off determined Force



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


This was a live score update – Report to follow.




This match was famous last year not for the Rugby that was played but for Lote Tuqiri’s late charge on his team-mate Sam Norton-Knight.

Saturday April 12
Venue: Subiaco Oval, Perth
Referee: Brett Bowden (Australia)
Assistant Referees : Paul Marks (Australia), James Scholtens (Australia)
TV Match Official : George Ayoub (Australia)
Reviewer/Perf. Auditor : Wayne Erickson (Australia)
Head-to-Head: Played 2, Waratahs 1, Force 0, Drawn 1
In Perth: Played 1, Waratahs 1, Force 0
Last season: Round 5, March 2 2007: Waratahs 16-16 Force at Aussie Stadium, Sydney


Match detail


0.00 : We are waiting for the kick off.


0.01: The match is underway.


2.45: The Force give away a penalty so Kurtley Beale took a shot at goal and sltted it to put the Waratahs in front.


9.43: The game is held up briefly as Tom Hockings recives some attention.


13.00: The Force put together 17 phases but the Waratahs defence holds strong.  


19.00: The Waratahs give a penalty away so the Matt Giteau has a shot at goal and slots it to put the scores level.


21.00: Matt Giteau goes down injured so the Waratahs keep the ball moving at speed. Eventually the ball goes out.


23.00: The game is held up as Matt Giteau recieves attention. He was injured tackling Sam Norton-Knight. The stretcher comes out and he is driven off. As he goes off he gives the crowd the thumbs up signalling that his going off is precautionary. Lachlan McKay takes his place.  


25.00: Rob Horne who is on his starting debut breaks through the Force defence and scores the Tah’s first try.


26.00: Kurtley Beale slots the conversion.


29.00: The Waratahs give away a penalty so Shepherd has a shot at goal but misses.


31.00: The Tahs give another penalty away so Shepherd has another shot and this one is much better.


38.00: The Force are starting to dominate the match and the Waratahs give another penalty away so again Shepherd has a shot at goal and again he slots it to bring the Force to within a point.


40.03 The siren sounds for half time.


The half time Score was Force 9 Waratahs 10


The second half is underway.


48.00: The Waratahs give another penalty away so Cameron Shepherd takes shot at goal from 42 metres out but it hits the crossbar and stays out.


49.00: Drew Mitchell gets a warning on advice from Assistant Referee Paul Marks (yes that guy again). Replays show there was nothing in it.


53.00: The Waratahs take a bit of a blow as Phil Waugh comes off. He is replaced by Beau Robinson.


59.00: Waugh’s going off seems to inspire the Waratahs as they enjoy a good period.


61.00: The Force enjoy an excellent period putting together 11 phases as they work the ball up the length of the field. The end result is a penalty for the Force.


63.00: Cameron Shepherd takes the shot and slots it to put the Force in front for the first time this match.


70.00: Lachie Turner gets a lucky bounce on the attack and he runs in to score a try in the corner – that must be a decisive try for the Waratahs.


72.00: Kurtley Beale  slots the conversion from the corner.


78.00: The Force don’t give up but the Waratahs want to score more points.


80.01: The siren goes but there is a lineout. The Force run it and win a penalty. They keep the ball alive. The Waratahs have Alfi Mafi sent to the bin – they play on.


83.00 The Force work it up to the line. They pass the ball but there is an intercept and the ball gets kicked out.


The Final score is Force 12 Waratahs 17


Report to follow.





Tries –

Pen -Matt Giteau, Cameron Shepherd (3)

Con –



Tries – Rob Horne,Lachie Turner

Pen -Kurtley Beale 

Con – Kurtley Beale 

Cards – Alfi Mafi (yellow)





1. Pek Cowan,2. Tai McIsaac,3. Troy Takiari,4. Tom Hockings,5. Nathan Sharpe (c),6. Scott Fava,7. David Pocock,8. Richard Brown,9. Chris O’Young,10. Matt Giteau (vc),11. Drew Mitchell,12. Scott Staniforth,13. Ryan Cross,14. Nick Cummins,15. Cameron Shepherd

Reserves :16. Luke Holmes,17. AJ Whalley,18. Sam Wykes,19. Matt Hodgson,20. James Stannard,21. Lachlan MacKay,22. Haig Sare.


1. Benn Robinson,2. Tatafu Polota-Nau,3. Matt Dunning ,4. Will Caldwell,5. Dan Vickerman,6. Dean Mumm,7. Phil Waugh [c],8. Wycliff Palu,9. Luke Burgess,10. Kurtley Beale,11. Lote Tuqiri,12. Tom Carter,13. Rob Horne*,14. Lachie Turner,15. Sam Norton-Knight

Reserves:16. Adam Freier,17. Al Baxter ,18. David Lyons,19. Beau Robinson,20. Brett Sheehan,21. Matt Carraro^,22. Alfi Mafi
* Super Rugby starting debut
^ NSW Debut (if used)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.