Super Rugby

Waratahs make five changes for Hurricanes




Waratahs head coach Daryl Gibson has named a Super Rugby team with five changes to the side that beat the Sunwolves for this Saturday’s match against the Hurricanes at Allianz Stadium.

Powerful number eight, Wycliff Palu makes a return to the starting side injecting some added experience and leadership to the back row together with Dean Mumm and Team Captain, Michael Hooper.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Club Captain, Dave Dennis will pair up with Will Skelton in the second row, while in the backs, Matt Carraro returns to the starting XV, joining Taqele Naiyaravoro on the wing.

Jack Dempsey, Matt Lucas and Reece Robinson will provide welcome support off the bench for the Tahs this weekend following their impressive performances against the Sunwolves in the last round.

Dean Mumm is set to run out for his 100th Super Rugby game this weekend, while Matt Carraro will celebrate his 50th Super Rugby and NSW Waratahs match.

The round 16 match will be one of the biggest games all year for the Waratahs as they sit equal top of the Australian conference on the cusp of the Super Rugby final series.

The NSW Waratahs and Hurricanes have faced each other on 20 occasions, winning 10 games each, with the Tahs securing six out of the last eight meetings.


Paddy Ryan , Tatafu Polota-Nau , Tom Robertson , David Dennis (VC), Will Skelton, Dean Mumm, Michael Hooper (C), Wycliff Palu , Nick Phipps, Bernard Foley, Matt Carraro , Rob Horne, Israel Folau, Taqele Naiyaravoro, Andrew Kellaway ,

Replacements: Hugh Roach , Jeremy Tilse , Angus Ta’avao, Sam Lousi , Jack Dempsey, Matt Lucas, David Horwitz, Reece Robinson

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.