Super Rugby

Waratahs make four changes for Blues




Waratahs head coach Daryl Gibson has made four changes to the team that beat the Reds for this Saturday’s match against the Blues in Sydney.

Gibson said his team has certainly been lifted after a gritty win over the Queensland Reds, but admitted they haven’t eased off in terms of preparation.

“What impressed me most last weekend was our level of commitment for the full eighty minutes and that’s what we’re focused on as a team to deliver again this weekend,” said Gibson

“The win against the Reds is a step in the right direction, with the Australian conference still open – hopefully we can build the momentum on the back that result.

“Last Saturday we showed the pride our team has in the NSW jersey and we want to do that again for our fans at home,” he said.

There are four changes to Gibson’s starting line up for the clash against Auckland.

“We are pleased to welcome back Tolu Latu who has been a stand out for the team in the number two jersey this season and was forced out last weekend due to a shoulder injury.

“The rotation among our halves will see Jake Gordon return to the starting fifteen with Nick Phipps on the bench. As I’ve said previously, we have three strong halves and we this combination is the right one to take on the Blues.

“Jed Holloway’s strong form will see him starting at number eight with Reece Robinson given another opportunity to start on the wing,” said Gibson.

Taqele Naiyaravoro has been sidelined with a broken hand, but looks likely to be available to selection for the Rebels game.


Israel Folau, Reece Robinson, Rob Horne, David Horwitz, Cam Clark, Bernard Foley, Jake Gordon, Jed Holloway, Michael Hooper (capt), Ned Hanigan, David McDuling, Dean Mumm, Sekope Kepu, Tolu Latu, Tom Robertson.

Replacements: Hugh Roach, Paddy Ryan, Angus Taavao, Will Skelton, Michael Wells, Nick Phipps, Bryce Hegarty, Irae Simone.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.