Waratahs make late change for Super 14 Semi-final



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


Seven days after flying to Parkes to play for the Dubbo Rhinos, Beau Robinson has been brought onto the HSBC Waratahs bench for Saturday’s Super 14 semifinal with the Sharks at the Sydney Football Stadium.

Robinson comes into the match day 22 in place of David Lyons who was ruled out with a hamstring injury sustained at training on Thursday.

Due to a conflict with an off-season club transfer, Robinson returned to his roots to play for the Dubbo Rhinos against the Parkes Boars last weekend.

‘We really wanted him to get a game under his belt because he was always going to be in the frame for our finals campaign,’ said Head Coach Ewen McKenzie.

‘We’re really glad he got that hit-out with Dubbo because he’s going to be an important player for us from the bench tomorrow night.’

McKenzie said he was disappointed Lyons who has already battled injury in 2008 to get back on the field in his last season for the Waratahs.

‘He’s leaving the organisation at the end of the season so it’s unfortunate he’ll be out, particularly with it being Waughy’s 100th game, but we’re hopeful he’ll be available next week if required.’

Tickets are available for the Waratahs-Sharks semifinal through Ticketek  or 13 28 49.

Saturday, 24 May 2008 (Kick-off 8:00pm AEST)
Sydney Football Stadium
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (NZL)
Touch Judges: Lyndon Bray (NZL) & Kelvin Deaker (NZL)

HSBC Waratahs

1. Benn Robinson ,2. Adam Freier, 3. Al Baxter, 4. Dean Mumm, 5. Dan Vickerman, 6. Rocky Elsom, 7. Phil Waugh [c], 8. Wycliff Palu, 9. Luke Burgess, 10. Kurtley Beale, 11. Lote Tuqiri, 12. Tom Carter, 13. Rob Horne, 14. Lachie Turner,
15. Sam Norton-Knight

Reserves: 16. Al Manning, 17. Matt Dunning, 18. Will Caldwell, 19. Beau Robinson, 20. Brett Sheehan, 21. Matt Carraro, 22. Timana Tahu.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.