Super Rugby

Waratahs make one change for Lions Super rugby Semi-final



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Waratahs Super rugby head coach Daryl Gibson has named a team with one change to play the Lions in Saturday’s Super rugby Semi-final in Johannesburg.

The only selection change to the starting line up is the selection of hooker Tolu Latu as replacement for Damien Fitzpatrick, who will be on the bench.

NSW Waratahs Head Coach Daryl Gibson said the inclusion of Latu was a reflection of the type of game the Lions were likely to play.

“This match will be a very physical encounter, particularly with the breakdown and scrum being key battlegrounds. These are areas where Tolu excels. We are expecting a real set piece battle so we need to be good in this area to compete with the Lions’ scrum and lineout,” Gibson said.

Gibson said he did not envisage the Lions changing their game plan.

“I can’t see the Lions changing what has worked for them all season. We learnt a great deal from the last time we played them when they won easily, and when their strengths led them to victory. We have again focused on our defence this week as we see that as key to victory.”

The NSW Waratahs advanced to the final four after turning a 17-point deficit at halftime into a seven-point victory against the Highlanders.

“You cannot look past the support of our loyal members and fans who got the “NSW” chant going and helped our team win that match last week.

And add to that the fighting traits of our team, the way we managed the yellow card period and the excellent tries we scored. We are going into Saturday’s match with the message of not having any regrets,” Gibson added.

Winger Taqele Naiyaravoro is set to play his 50th Super Rugby match.


15 Israel Folau, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 10 Bernard Foley (c), 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Will Miller, 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Jed Holloway, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 Tom Robertson

Replacements: 16 Damien Fitzpatrick, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Brad Wilkin, 21 Jake Gordon, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Cam Clark

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.