Waratahs name huge back row for Bulls




David Lyons will start for the HSBC Waratahs for the first time this year after being named at openside flanker for Saturday’s crunch Super 14 clash with the South African Bulls at Aussie Stadium.

The addition of Lyons means the Waratahs back row alone will weigh in at more than 350 kilos.

‘There’s a lot to like about the back row we’ve named this week,’ said head coach Ewen McKenzie.

‘They’re a big bunch of blokes but they are also strong runners and they’ll need to do plenty of that against the Bulls.

‘Big blokes on big blokes, it’s definitely a highlight of the year when we play the Bulls.’

A renowned Test Number 8, Lyons says he has no problems playing openside this weekend.

‘This is my first start coming back from a knee injury and although I’m not playing Number 8 I think it’s important for the team to have more experience on the field at the moment,’ said Lyons.

‘The Bulls are a very physical team but they’ve also got a lot of speed and they’re coming off a good win over the Brumbies so they’re more than a formidable opponent.’

Lyons will become the fourth most capped Waratah in history on Saturday playing his 91st game, one more than former scrumhalf Sam Payne.*

Ewen Mckenzie also welcomed the return of Matt Dunning from a knee injury on the bench.

‘It’s good to have some positive news with David and Matt coming back,’ McKenzie said.

‘Experience is impossible to replace and with two quality Test players back in the twenty-two it’s a boost psychologically and game-wise.’

Dunning suffered a knee injury in the first trial game of the year.

Long-term squad member All Manning is set for his Super Rugby debut after being named on the bench for the injured Tatafu Polota-Nau.

Brett Sheehan will start ahead of Josh Valetine at scrumhalf.

HSBC Waratahs to play South African Bulls

Saturday, 10 March 2007

7.40pm Aussie Stadium, Sydney

  1. Benn Robinson
  2. Adam Freier
  3. Alastair Baxter
  4. Dean Mumm
  5. Will Caldwell
  6. Rocky Elsom
  7. David Lyons (91st cap ‘ outright 4th all-time NSW)
  8. Wycliff Palu
  9. Brett Sheehan
  10. Kurtley Beale
  11. Lote Tuqiri
  12. Daniel Halangahu
  13. Ben Jacobs
  14. Morgan Turinui
  15. Peter Hewat
  16. Al Manning (Super Rugby Debut)
  17. Matt Dunning
  18. Ben Hand
  19. Beau Robinson
  20. Josh Valentine
  21. Sam Norton-Knight
  22. Sam Harris

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.