Super Rugby

Waratahs name squad for Rebels derby clash



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Waratahs Super rugby head coach Rob Penney has named his team for the New South Wales side’s first Australian conference derby clash.

The Waratahs travel to Melbourne on Friday to face the Rebels at AAMI Park as both teams aiming for their first win of the season.

Rob Penney has made several changes to his Round 2 side, with Angus Bell making his Super Rugby starting debut in the front row alongside Robbie Abel and Harry Johnson-Holmes.

Jed Holloway replaces Lachlan Swinton in the back row, while Jack Maddocks joins the starting XV on the left win in place of Mark Nawaqanitawase.

Alex Newsome shifts from the right wing to outside centre, as Cameron Clark makes his first appearance for the 2020 season.

Tom Robertson, Mark Nawaqanitawse, Lalakai Foketi and Lachlan Swinton will all appear via the bench.


15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Cameron Clark, 13 Alex Newsome, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Jack Maddocks, 10 Will Harrison, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jed Holloway, 5 Rob Simmons (c), 4 Tom Staniforth, 3 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 2 Robbie Abel, 1 Angus Bell

Replacements: 16 Damien Fitzpatrick, 17 Tom Robertson, 18 Tetera Faulkner, 19 Ryan Mccauley, 20 Lachlan Swinton, 21 Mitch Short , 22 Lalkai Foketi, 23 Mark Nawaqanitawase

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.