Waratahs show they mean business



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


The Waratahs showed that they are real contenders for this year’s Super 14 title in Round 11 by beating the Sharks 25-10 to take second place on the points table.

The Sharks were in second place but failed to fire for the second week running on tour.


Sadly for the Sharks their Australasian tour will not get any easier as the Sharks face the Crusaders in Chirstchurch next week.

The Waratahs however scored a four try bonus point which was aided by a Wycliff Palu try double.


The match was the Waratahs final home round robin match of the year which means that they are unbeaten at home in 2008.


The match was remarkably similar to the Tah’s clash with the Lions last week as they failed to score many points in the first half but a 20 minute blitz in the second half saw them earning the bonus point. 

The Durban-based Sharks are now tied for third with New Zealand side the Chiefs.

The Waratahs, who now trail the first-placed Crusaders on the log by seven points, led 3-0 at halftime but poured it on in the second half to move themselves into a strong semifinal position with three matches left.

Sam Norton-Knight and Tom Carter scored the other Waratahs tries, while winger Odwa Ndungane scored the Sharks’ only try with two minutes left.

It was the fifth Waratahs’ win in a row.

The four tries came between the 48th and 65th minutes, increasing their lead to 25-3.

Fullback Norton-Knight was first to cross, off a long pass from five-eighth Kurtley Beale, before No. 8 Palu steamrolled over for the first of his tries seven minutes later.

After jolting the ball free with a big hit on Springboks forward A.J. Venter, Palu accepted an offload from replacement hooker Adam Freier, brushed off Sharks fullback Stefan Terblanche and then rode over Ndungane to touch down next to the posts.

Beale’s conversion made it 15-3 and center Tom Carter regathered Beale’s probing chip kick to score teh Waratahs’ third try in the 59th minute.

Captain Phil Waugh put Palu away for his second in the 65th minute.

The Waratahs close the season with three away matches – two in South Africa and one in Brisbane against archrivals the Reds on the final weekend.

Final score Waratahs 25 Sharks 10





Tries – Sam Norton-Knight ,Wycliff Palu (2), Tom Carter

Pen – Lote Tuqiri

Con – Kurtley Beale



Tries –  Odwa Ndungane

Pen – Francois Steyn

Con – Rory Kockott


Saturday April 26
Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney
Referee: Steve Walsh (New Zealand)
Touch judges: Chris Pollock (New Zealand), Grant MacNeill (Australia)
Television match official: George Ayoub (Australia)
Assessor: Scott Young (Australia),
Performance Auditor : Lusanda Menze (South Africa)


1. Benn Robinson, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 3. Matt Dunning*, 4. Will Caldwell, 5. Dan Vickerman, 6. Dean Mumm, 7. Phil Waugh [c], 8. Wycliff Palu, 9. Luke Burgess, 10. Kurtley Beale, 11. Lote Tuqiri, 12. Tom Carter, 13. Rob Horne, 14. Lachie Turner, 15. Sam Norton-Knight

Reserves: 16. Adam Freier, 17. Al Baxter , 18. David Lyons, 19. Beau Robinson, 20. Brett Sheehan, 21. Matt Carraro, 22. Alfi Mafi
* 95th NSW Cap (fifth all-time)


15. Stefan Terblanche, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Waylon Murray/Bradley Barritt, 12. Francois Steyn, 11. JP Pietersen, 10. Frederic Michalak, 9. Rory Kockott, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Jacques Botes, 6. Keegan Daniel, 5. AJ Venter(Captain), 4. Albert van den Berg, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Reserves: 16. Craig Burden, 17. Deon Carstens, 18. BJ Botha, 19. A.N.Other ,20. Jean Deysel, 21. Ruan Pienaar, 22. Adrian Jacobs.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.