Waratahs Super Rugby



Waratahs Quick Links : Home | Squad | Video | Betting |

Waratahs Super Rugby History

Waratahs Super Rugby History

The New South Wales Waratahs (referred to as the Waratahs or simply the ‘Tahs) are an Australian rugby union team, representing New South Wales.

The Waratahs has historically been the name for the New South Wales Rugby Union (NSWRU) representative team, and became the name for the New South Wales team when it entered the Super Six, Super 10 and Super 12 competitions.

The name and emblem comes from the Waratah, the state flower for New South Wales. Their home ground is Aussie Stadium at Moore Park in Sydney.

Until 2005, their best performance in the Super 12 was a lone semi-final appearance in 2002, when they were beaten 51-10 by the ACT Brumbies.

In 2005, they had a best-ever season, finishing second in the league table, and ultimately losing to the Crusaders in the final. 2007 Was a shocker of a year for the Waratahs but in 2008 they reached the final where they lost to the Crusaders.

In 2014 the Waratahs improved on 2005’s performance as they were crowned champions after beating the Crusaders 33-32 in the final with Bernard Foley kicking a late long range penalty.

Super 15 postions

2015  .. Finished Second but were eliminated in the Semi 17-35 by the Highlanders
2014 .. Champions (also finished regular season in first place)
2013 .. 9th
2012 .. 11th
2011 .. 5th (beaten by the Blues in the Round 1 play off)

Super 14 positions

2010 .. 3rd (beaten by the Stormers in the Semi-final)
2009 .. 5th
2008 .. 2nd .. (lost final to Crusaders)
2007 .. 13th
2006 .. 3rd .. (lost semi final to Hurricanes )

Super 12 positions

2005 .. 2nd .. (lost final to Crusaders)
2004 .. 8th
2003 .. 5th
2002 .. 3rd .. (lost semi-final to ACT Brumbies)
2001 .. 8th
2000 .. 9th
1999 .. 8th
1998 .. 6th
1997 .. 9th
1996 .. 6th



For more Waratahs Super Rugby News click on WaratahsRugby.com


Brought to you by Superxv.com the leading Super Rugby site.