Super Rugby

Waratahs v Cheetahs Rd.11 Super Rugby Preview




Super Rugby moves from New Zealand to Australia in the third match on Saturday’s Round 11 matches as the Waratahs host the Cheetahs.

The Waratahs will go into the match with some confidence as they have just returned from a tour where they beat the Western Force in Perth, and the Stormers in South Africa.

Those two victories have put them within reach of the top spot in the Australian Conference again and according to coach Daryl Gibson the team is now playing with confidence.

The Cheetahs on the other hand have lost their last two matches and after nine matches they have two wins. Both wins were over the Sunwolves.

The Waratahs have played the Cheetahs 9 times in Super Rugby and they have won 5 matches and lost four. This gives them a record of winning 56% of their matches against the Cheetahs.

The Waratahs have played the Cheetahs five times in Sydney and they have won three and lost two. This gives the Waratahs a record of winning 60% of their home matches against the Cheetahs.

The average score when the Waratahs play the Cheetahs at home is : Waratahs 24 Cheetahs 18.

Interestingly the Cheetahs have won both of their last two matches in Sydney although the last time they won in Sydney was in 2013 and they have not played there since.

For this week the Waratahs have made one change to their team and Hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau returns to the starting line up having come on off the replacements bench last week in Cape Town.

The match will see Bernard Foley become equal highest Super Rugby-capped flyhalf for the Waratahs, together with Daniel Halangahu on 59.

Dean Mumm remains in the number six jersey, with Jack Dempsey still out with a shoulder injury. Benn Robinson is recovering from surgery following an eye injury during the round eight match against the Brumbies.

The Cheetahs have made eight changes to their side and most of them are in the pack. Six of the eight are in the forwards. Ox Nche, Elandre Huggett, Luan de Bruin, Francois Uys, Willie Britz and Oupa Mohoje are all included in the starting line-up with Torsten van Jaarsveld, Charles Marais, Maks van Dyk, Lodewyk de Jager and Uzair Cassiem on the bench.

Captain Francois Venter is back in the starting side at inside center after being withdrawn from the game against the Reds due to a calf injury.

The last time these teams met was in Bloemfontein and the Waratahs won 33-58 in Bloemfontein.

The Bookies have given the Cheetahs a 16 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. The Waratahs beat the Stormers away so with home advantage they should beat the Cheetahs who are fifth in the South African group. The Waratahs should win this by 12.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ (Sky), Aus (Fox Sports), SA (SuperSport) and in the UK on Sky Sports 4.

Average score: Waratahs 28 Cheetahs 22

Last five results
06 Jun 2015 Waratahs v Cheetahs 58-33 Bloemfontein
15 Mar 2013 Waratahs v Cheetahs 26-27 Sydney
26 May 2012 Waratahs v Cheetahs 34-35 Bloemfontein
19 Mar 2011 Waratahs v Cheetahs 3-23 Sydney
03 Apr 2010 Waratahs v Cheetahs 40-17 Sydney

Waratahs overall record against the Cheetahs
Played 9, Wins 5, Losses 4, Draws 0

Match No.83: Waratahs v Cheetahs
Date : Saturday 7 May 2016
Venue : Allianz Stadium, Sydney
Kick Off local: 19:45 local
Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 1:Andrew Lees
Assistant Ref 2:Graham Cooper
TMO : George Ayoub



1. Paddy Ryan , 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau , 3. Tom Robertson , 4. David Dennis (VC) 5. Will Skelton, 6. Dean Mumm, 7. Michael Hooper (C) 8. Jed Holloway , 9. Nick Phipps, 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Rob Horne , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Israel Folau , 14. Reece Robinson , 15. Andrew Kellaway ,

Replacements:16. Hugh Roach , 17. Jeremy Tilse, 18. Angus Ta’avao , 19. Sam Lousi , 20. Wycliff Palu , 21. Matt Lucas, 22. David Horwitz, 23. Matt Carraro,


1. Ox Nche , 2. Elandre Huggett , 3. Luan de Bruin , 4. Carl Wegner , 5. Francois Uys (vc) , 6. Willie Britz , 7. Oupa Mohoje , 8. Henco Venter , 9. Tian Meyer , 10. Fred Zeilinga , 11. Raymond Rhule , 12. Francois Venter (C) , 13. Nico Lee , 14. Sergeal Petersen , 15. Clayton Blommetjies

Replacements: 16. Torsten van Jaarsveld , 17. Charles Marais , 18. Maks van Dyk , 19. Lodewyk de Jager , 20. Uzair Cassiem , 21. Shaun Venter , 22. Niel Marais , 23. Michael van der Spuy

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.