Super Rugby

Waratahs v Chiefs Rd.14 Super Rugby Preview




The second Super Rugby match in Round 14 this weekend is in Sydney where the Waratahs host the Chiefs at Allianz Stadium.

The match put the Australian Super Rugby Conference leader against the New Zealand Conference leader so it should be a blockbuster clash.

The match is shaping to be a must win match for the Waratahs if they are to win the Australian Conference. That is on paper of course as you never know what upsets lie ahead.

The Waratahs (on 30 points) have played 11 matches and won six while the Chiefs (on 42) have also played 11 matches and won 9. The Waratahs will however have home advantage.

These teams have not played each other since 2014 due to the way the old draw missed out one team a year but overall the Waratahs have played the Chiefs 19 times in Super Rugby.

In those 19 matches since 1996 the Waratahs have won 12 and lost 7 with no draws. That is a record of winning 63 % of their matches against the Hamilton side.

The Waratahs have had home advantage over the Chiefs in 9 matches and they have won 7 matches and lost two. This gives them a record of winning 78% of their home matches against the Chiefs with an average score of Waratahs 26 Chiefs 20.

In terms of selection for this week the Waratahs have been able to start Rob Horne who broke a bone in his hand against the Rebels earlier this season. Also back in the starting line up is Zac Guildford after an impressing when he came off the bench against the Crusaders last week. Incidentally the try he scored denied the Crusaders a bonus point and was his debut try for the Sydney side.

In total Waratahs coach Daryl Gibson has made four changes to the starting side that played last week. Wycliff Palu has been injected as the Tahs’ number eight in place of Jed Holloway who re-injured his shoulder last week against the Crusaders.

Utility back Matt Carraro also joins the 15 on the wing and Rob Horne will play at inside centre for his 100th game for NSW.

The Chiefs have made one change to the side that played last week. Tom Sanders is promoted from the bench to start at number 8 after Michael Leitch sustained a hand injury against the Rebels.

The last three matches between the teams in Sydney have all been won by the Waratahs. The last Chiefs victory in the city was in April 2007 – nine years ago.

The Bookies have given the Waratahs a 4 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. The Waratahs may have home advantage but the New Zealand Conference has been the toughest and strongest this season and the Chiefs are the leaders of it. The Chiefs should win this by 6.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ (Sky), Aus (Fox Sports), SA (SuperSport) and in the UK on Sky Sports 1/HD.

Average score: Waratahs 28 Chiefs 24

Last five results
31 May 2014 Waratahs v Chiefs 33-17 New Plymouth
19 Apr 2013 Waratahs v Chiefs 25-20 Sydney
31 Mar 2012 Waratahs v Chiefs 13-30 Hamilton
01 Apr 2011 Waratahs v Chiefs 23-16 Sydney
08 May 2010 Waratahs v Chiefs 46-19 Hamilton

Waratahs overall record against the Chiefs
Played 19, Wins 12 , Losses 7, Draws 0

Match No.102: Waratahs v Chiefs
Date : Friday 27 May 2016
Venue : Allianz Stadium, Sydney
Kick Off local: 19:45 local
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 2:Ed Martin
TMO : Peter Marshall



1. Paddy Ryan , 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau , 3. Tom Robertson, 4. Dave Dennis (VC), ,5. Will Skelton, 6. Dean Mumm, 7. Michael Hooper (C), 8. Wycliff Palu , 9. Nick Phipps, 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Zac Guildford , 12. Rob Horne , 13. Israel Folau, 14. Matt Carraro , 15. Andrew Kellaway

Replacements: 16. Hugh Roach , 17. Jeremy Tilse, 18. Angus Ta’avao , 19. Sam Lousi , 20. Jack Dempsey , 21. Matt Lucas , 22. David Horwitz , 23. Reece Robinson ,


1. Mitchell Graham (22) 2. Nathan Harris, 3. Hiroshi Yamashita , 4. Dominic Bird , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Taleni Seu , 7. Sam Cane (cc), 8. Tom Sanders , 9. Brad Weber , 10. Aaron Cruden(cc), 11. James Lowe, 12. Anton Lienert-Brown , 13. Seta Tamanivalu , 14. Toni Pulu , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Hika Elliot , 17. Kane Hames , 18. Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 19. Michael Allardice, 20. Lachlan Boshier, 21. Kayne Hammington, 22. Andrew Horrell, 23. Sam Vaka

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.