Super Rugby

Brumbies beat Waratahs in Sydney




The NSW Waratahs have played the Brumbies 38 times in Super Rugby since 1996, the Waratahs have won 17 matches, lost 21 times, and drawn none.

The Waratahs’ 17 wins give them a record of winning 45% of their matches against the Brumbies regardless of venue.

  • The Brumbies have won 10 of their last 11 Super Rugby games against the NSW Waratahs (L1), including their last seven on the bounce; they defeated the Waratahs by 51 points in their most recent meeting (61-10 – February 2021), their biggest winning margin over a fellow Australian team in Super Rugby history.
  • This will be the NSW Waratahs’ 350th game in Super Rugby history and defeat would bring them their 167th loss, the equal third-most in the history of the competition alongside the Bulls (Reds 183, Highlanders 176).
  • The NSW Waratahs have conceded 40.2 points per game in the 2021 Super Rugby AU campaign, the most ever by an Australian team and the 10th most any team in a season in the history of the competition.
  • The Brumbies have conceded just nine turnovers per game in the 2021 Super Rugby AU season, the fewest of any team and seven per game fewer than they conceded in the 2020 campaign.
  • Nic White has made one assist in each of his last two Super Rugby appearances and has been directly involved in three tries in his last three games against the NSW Waratahs (1 try, 2 assists).

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway in Sydney at the famous SCG!

3.00: This is going to be an almighty match for the Waratahs. Angus Bell takes out Tom Banks in the air.

4.00: TRY! Tom Banks joins the backline from the quick lineout, takes Lolesio’s pass, and ghosts through Alex Newsome and Izaia Perese, swerves Jack Maddocks before beating James Ramm to open the scoring – that was straight out of the Chris Latham playbook. 0-5

5.00: MISS! Noah Lolesio’s touchline kick fades away from the sticks. 0-5

7.00: New South Wales wins the scrum penalty. Jack Maddocks kicks to the corner.

10.00: NO TRY! Tom Banks beats Alex Newsome to the bouncing ball for a Brumbies 22 drop-out.

12.00: NO TRY! Harry Johnson-Holmes reaches out to score from close range, but the prop loses the ball forward, and cannot score.

14.00: TRY! Tom Wright picks up the bounce pass and drags Jack Maddocks over the try line to score in the corner. 0-10

15.00: MISS! The kick is no good. 0-10

18.00: PENALTY! Will Harrison gets his team on the board. 3-10

20.00: MISS! Harrison pulls his second penalty attempt well wide. 3-10

22.00: TRY! Jake Gordon has had enough, the scrumhalf takes a quick-tap penalty, and darts towards the line. He is stopped on the line but cannot dot down. The ball is recycled slowly to Harry Johnson-Holmes, who gets the try. 8-10

23.00: CONVERSION! Harrison can’t miss from there. 10-10

24.00: Banks kicks to the 22.

25.00: TRY! Brumbies hit back! Andy Muirhead dances past several defenders to claim his team’s third score. 10-15

27.00: CONVERSION! This time it’s over! 10-17

30.00: The Brumbies win a scrum penalty after several resets were moved from one side of the field to the other because the ground is breaking up.

33.00: Banks kicks another penalty to the corner. Here we go!

34.00: TRY! GUESS WHO? It’s that man Folau Fainga’a who crashes over after a powerful driving maul. 10-22

35.00: CONVERSION! Lolesio slots the conversion. 10-24

38.00: The Waratahs have a good field position, but they need to make it count, this game is not over yet. Harrison boots to the corner.

41.00: The hooter sounds, Nic White boots the ball into touch.

The halftime score was NSW Waratahs 10 Brumbies 24

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway down under at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

43.00: The referee has had enough, he calls both skippers and gives them a piece of his mind.

45.00: Good defence by the Tahs, who manage to hit the Brumbies backward, and win a penalty at the breakdown.

46.00: YELLOW CARD! Tom Cusack goes to the bin for infringing at the ruck. 10-24

49.00: NO TRY! Tom Wright dots down in the corner but his knee is out before he scores. 10-24

54.00: The game is breaking up now, all the substitutes have changed the flow of the game. To NSW credit, they have not imploded as they did in February when they got trounced 61-10 in Canberra.

57.00: Harry Johnson-Holmes goes close but he knocks on again. Oh, dear! The Tahs do, however, have the penalty, and decide to scrum.

60.00: The Tahs are battering the goal line, but cannot get over. They go 10 phases before Harris loses the ball forward with the try line at his mercy. That is rubbish!

64.00: TRY! Will Harrison goes over after a mistake by the Brumbies. Game on! 15-24

65.00: CONVERSION! Harrison converts, it’s the first time that the Tahs have scored 17 points this season. 17-24

69.00: The game is slowing down with all the penalties and handling mistakes.

72.00: The Tahs have a shot if they can keep their heads, the Brumbies don’t look up for the last 10 minutes.

74.00: YELLOW CARD! Rory Scott is in the bin. 17-24

75.00: The Brumbies sack the driving maul, and get a reprieve.

78.00: The Tahs are camped inside the ACT 22, but cannot get over; the story of the game.

81.00: YELLOW CARD! RED CARD! Cusack is shown his second yellow. The Tahs lose another turnover on the Brumbies’ line, the visitors take possession, and clear, but the TMO review shows that Cusack knocked the ball out of Jake Gordon’s hands. 17-24

82.00: TRY! James Ramm is in the corner after the Tahs opted for the scrum. Sensational! 22-24

83.00: MISS! Oh, dear! Harrison pulls his touchline conversion well wide. SO CLOSE for the Tahs, but not to be. Game over!


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Waratahs 22 (10) Brumbies 24 (24)


Tries – Johnson-Holmes, Harrison, Ramm
Pen – Harrison
Con – Harrison (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Banks, Wright, Muirhead, Folau Fainga’a
Pen –
Con – Lolesio (2)
Drop –
Cards – Cusack (Yellow, 46′), Scott (Yellow, 74′)

Match Officials
Referee: Graham Cooper
Assistant Ref 1: 
Assistant Ref 2: 



15 Jack Maddocks, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Izaia Perese, 12 Lalakai Foketi, 11 James Ramm, 10 Will Harrison, 9 Jake Gordon (captain), 8 Will Harris, 7 Carlo Tizzano, 6 Hugh Sinclair, 5 Max Douglas, 4 Jeremy Williams, 3 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 2 David Porecki, 1 Angus Bell

 16 Tom Horton, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Darcy Breen, 19 Michael Wood, 20 Charlie Gamble, 21 Jack Grant, 22 Tane Edmed, 23 Mark Nawaqanitawase


15 Tom Banks, 14 Tom Wright, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Andy Muirhead, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Nic White (captain), 8 Pete Samu, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Cadeyrn Neville, 4 Nick Frost, 3 James Slipper, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Harry Lloyd

Replacements: 16 Lachlan Lonergan, 17 Fred Kaihea, 18 Sefo Kautai, 19 James Tucker, 20 Rory Scott, 21 Ryan Lonergan, 22 Bayley Kuenzle, 23 Mack Hansen

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.