Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Brumbies beat Waratahs in Sydney

Live super rugby scores - Live Super Rugby scoring

Live super rugby scores - Live Super Rugby scoring

The Waratahs have played the Brumbies 35 times in Super Rugby since 1996, the Waratahs have won 17 matches, lost 18 times and drawn none.

The Waratahs’ 17 wins give them a record of winning 49% of their matches against the Brumbies regardless of venue.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway at ANZ Stadium, Sydney for this Round Three Super Rugby AU grudge match between the Tahs and Brumbies.

3.00: A good start by the Brumbies, who go nine phases before winning a penalty in front of the posts for a couple of infringements by the Tahs at the breakdown. The Brumbies kick to the corner.

5.00: TRY! Tom Cusack dots down after Will Harrison drops Noah Lolesio’s cross-kick. Harrison, under pressure from andy Muirhead, makes a schoolboy error. Michael Hooper tackled Folau Fainga’a as the hooker tried to break off the maul. The Brumbies attacked the home team’s line going 12 phases before scoring. 0-5

7.00: MISS! Noah Lolesio cannot add the extras. 0-5

9.00: The Tahs win a penalty; Harrison calls for the tee.

10.00: PENALTY! Harrison gets NSW on the board. 3-5

12.00: A couple of scrappy lineouts by both teams before the Tahs win the turnover. Nothing comes of the counter-attack, but the hosts get the scrum in midfield.

14.00: The penalties are mounting against the visitors, who are warned by referee Angus Gardner. Harrison will take a shot from out wide.

15.00: PENALTY! The standoff puts his team ahead. 6-5

18.00: Big scrum by the hosts, who win the game’s first scrum-penalty. Harrison points to the posts.

20.00: MISS! Harrison misses and misses out on the record for most consecutive kicks (18), ending on 17. 6-5

21.00: YELLOW CARD! Muirhead is in the bin. 6-5

23.00: More warning s for the Brumbies, who are struggling at the breakdown.

24.00: TRY! Tom Horton breaks off the maul and scores his first Super Rugby try. 11-5

25.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 13-5

28.00: Another scrum-penalty conceded by the Brumbies.

29.00: TRY! James Ramm gets his second Super Rugby try. Harrison takes a quick-tap and sends a raking cross-field kick to the winger, who latches on to the bouncing ball to score. The Brumbies were caught napping. 18-5

30.00: CONVERSION! Harrison lands the widish kick. 20-5

33.00: The Brumbies – finally – get some possession and are attacking inside the Tahs’ 22.

34.00: TRY! It’s that man again Folau Fainga’a with his 22nd Super Rugby try and sixth try in six consecutive games equalling Malcolm Marx’s Lions’ record for a forward. 20-10

35.00: MISS! The kick is no good. 20-10

36.00: TRY! Rob Valetini crashes over from close-range after Tom Wright is stopped short of the goal-line. 20-15

37.00: CONVERSION! Bayley Kuenzle, taking over from the injured Lolesio, adds the extras. 20-17

39.00: Jack Maddocks drops an attempted clearance inside his in-goal. The Tahs are under massive pressure, here.

41.00: NSW survives the late onslaught to take a slim three-point lead into the break.

The halftime score was Waratahs 20 Brumbies 17

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway down under.

43.00: Scrum-penalty to the visitors, who seem to have swung the momentum late in the first half and continued into the second stanza.

44.00: A powerful driving maul wins the Brumbies another penalty after Ned Hanigan infringes.

46.00: It’s all Brumbies as they pile on the heat. They have a penalty-advantage, but keep the ball in hand as they go 15 phases before Simone’s bomb goes backwards.

47.00: Muirhead wins back the ball, but the visitors have gone 20 metres backwards before kicking away possession.

48.00: Waratahs win the ball back and find themselves inside the opposition’s 22. They win the lineout and counter-attack down the left flank. Brumbies need to be careful, here.

49.00: Darcy Swain is caught offside. Harrison will take a shot from right in front.

50.00: PENALTY! Harrison knocks another one over. 23-17

55.00: The Brumbies are right in this, but they cannot capitalise on the opposition’s errors.

58.00: Tahs on the attack, now. They have a great chance to score as they are inside the Brumbies’ 22.

59.00: The visitors hold up the maul, saving their bacon for now.

61.00: Both teams have emptied their benches looking for fresh legs and someone to be the match-winner.

63.00: MISS! Harrison can’t make it a two-score game. 23-17

65.00: Waratahs lose a lineout after replacing Horton with Robbie Abel.

67.00: Brumbies win a scrum-penalty. Momentum is starting to shift in favour of the ACT men.

68.00: Maddocks tackles Muirhead into touch inside his 22. Great defending by the fullback. Harrison clears the danger.

69.00: Oh, dear! It’s the Brumbies with another lost lineout; the Aussie lineout throwing has been rubbish this term.

71.00: Time is running out for Dan McKellar’s men, who seem to have lost their mojo.

74.00: The game has broken down; it’s not great.

76.00: Waratahs under pressure as the Brumbies finally win a lineout and are attacking inside the 22.

77.00: TRY! Issak Fines slips a couple of tackles and darts through a gap and under the posts. 23-22

78.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good, the Brumbies lead. 23-24

80.00: The Brumbies are trying to run out the clock. They do, the siren sounds and Fines boots the ball into touch.


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Waratahs 23 (20) Brumbies 24 (17)


Tries – Horton, Ramm
Pen – Harrison (3)
Con – Harrison (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Cusack, Fainga’a, Valetini, Fines
Pen –
Con – Kuenzle (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1: Amy Perrett
Assistant Ref 2: Reuben Keane
TMO: James Leckie



15 Jack Maddocks, 14 James Ramm, 13 Joey Walton, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Will Harrison, 9 Mitch Short, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Rob Simmons (captain), 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 2 Tom Horton, 1 Tom Robertson

Replacements: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Angus Bell, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Will Harris, 21 Michael McDonald, 22 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 23 Ben Donaldson


15 Tom Banks, 14 Andy Muirhead, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Tom Wright, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Pete Samu, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Murray Douglas, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Allan Alaalatoa (captain), 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper

Replacements: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Tom Ross, 19 Lachlan McCaffrey, 20 Will Miller, 21 Issak Fines, 22 Bayley Kuenzle, 23 Mack Hansen

Exit mobile version