Super Rugby

Brumbies beat Waratahs in Sydney




The last two matches between these two teams have been won by the Brumbies. Overall the Waratahs have played the Brumbies 29 times since 1996 and they have won 16 matches or 55%.

The Waratahs have hosted the Brumbies 16 times in Sydney and won 13 matches. The last match played in Sydney between the teams was won by the Brumbies but the four prior to that were all won by the Waratahs.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Bryce Hegarty kicks off for the Waratahs and the match is underway.

2.00: After some running play from both side the Waratahs win a penalty on the half way line. Hegarty kicks for touch.

5.00: The Waratahs win the line out but the Brumbies hold them out. The ball goes into touch again and the Waratahs have another line out.

6.00: the Waratahs win the line out again and try the maul. The Brumbies again hold them out. Hegarty kicks across and the ball goes straight to the Brumbies. They are however called back as there was an advantage and the Waratahs have a penalty.

7.00: Scott Fardy is yellow carded.

8.00: The Waratahs continue to attack the Brumbies 5m out. The Brumbies defence holds them out but then Tom Robertson goes over for his second ever Super Rugby TRY!

10.00: Reece Robertson adds the conversion.

14.00: The Waratahs have the Brumbies on the backfoot.

16.00: The Waratahs continue to test the Brumbies defence but then they concede a penalty. The Brumbies kick for touch and the line out. Brumbies still a player down.

18.00: Fardy comes back on for the Brumbies.

19.00: The Waratahs win a line out and Reece Robinson chips the ball down the wing but it goes straight into touch.

21.00: Josh Mann-Rea has to be helped from the field with an injury. Robbie Abel comes on as replacement.

24.00: The Brumbies win a line out on the 22m line. The ball is scrappy though and it is slow ball.

25.00: The Brumbies drive forward and win a penalty. The Brumbies take the line out.

27.00: The Brumbies get quick ball from the line out and Tevita Kuridrani slices through to score. TRY!

28.00: Wharenui Hawera adds the conversion to level the scores.

34.00: The Waratahs chip and chase but the Brumbies boot the ball back to the Tahs who counter attack but get forced into touch.

36.00: The Brumbies have the ball on attack in the Waratahs half. They go through 3 phases but then concede a penalty for not releasing.

40.00: The siren sounds for half time. There is however time for a Brumbies scrum.

41.00: Powell puts the ball into touch and its half time.

The half time score was Waratahs 7 Brumbies 7

The Brumbies kick off and the second half is underway.

Will Skelton has been replaced during the half time break by the Waratahs.

43.00: There is a break in play as Jack Dempsey goes down after a break and the medics rush in. He will be stretchered off.

46.00: The Brumbies clear the ball from their 22. The ball goes to Andrew Kellaway who can’t find touch. The Brumbies lose the ball and the Waratahs counter but the ball is passed straight into touch.

49.00: Nick Phipps comes off the field having won his 100th Super Rugby cap.

52.00: The Brumbies get into a strong attacking position in the Waratahs 22. They go through 5 phases as they cross the face of the posts.

53.00: Allan Alaalatoa knocks on in front of the posts for the Brumbies so the Waratahs will have a scrum.

55.00: The Waratahs clear the ball into touch from a scrum which sets up a line out on the Waratahs 22.

56.00: The Brumbies win the lineout, they go through three phases and Jordan Smiler knocks on. Sekope Kepu has taken a knock and the medics come running in. He comes off.

57.00: Penalty following a scrum to the Brumbies after Holloway held Smiler in front of the referee. The Brumbies kick for touch and take the line out.

58.00: The Brumbies set up the maul and they drive over the line and Robbie Abel scores. TRY! Brumbies lead.

59.00: Wharenui Hawera adds the conversion to extend the lead.

60.00: Poweell of the Brumbies kicks ahead where no one is home for the Waratahs. Henry Speight gets to it, chips it ahead further and chases and then dives on the ball and scores. TRY!

61.00: Hawera adds the conversion and suddenly the Brumbies are well ahead.

62.00: The Waratahs hit straight back. Kellaway offloads on the wing and the Brumbies run out of defenders and Jake Gordon finds he is in space with an open tryline ahead and scores. TRY !

64.00: Robinson misses the conversion. Kepu has failed his concussion test.

70.00: Problems in the scrum sees it being reset a couple of times.

71.00: The Brumbies then win a penalty from the scrum and Hawera kicks for touch. He finds touch 25m out.

73.00: From the line out Speight gets into space and races for the line to score his second TRY! Dodged one tackle and slipped off another poor attempt which allowed him into space.

74.00: Hawera adds the conversion.

78.00: The Waratahs win a penalty for a hight tackle. They will kick for touch.

80.00: The Waratahs win the line out and drive for the line. They get over the 5m line but lose the ball. There was advantage so the Waratahs get to try again.

82.00: The Waratahs continue to attack the line. As they get to the line the Brumbies force the penalty. Speight kicks it into touch and the Brumbies have won.

The full time score is Waratahs 12 (7) Brumbies 28 (7) 


Tries – T.Robertson, J.Gordon
Pen –
Con – R.Robertson
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – T. Kuridrani, R.Abel, H.Speight 2
Pen –
Con – W.Hawera 4
Drop –
Cards – S.Fardy (7th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 1:Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 2:Will Houston
TMO : Ian Smith



Andrew Kellaway, Reece Robinson, Israel Folau, Irae Simone, Rob Horne, Bryce Hegarty, Nick Phipps, Jed Holloway, Michael Hooper (c), Jack Dempsey, Will Skelton, Dean Mumm, Sekope Kepu, Tolu Latu, Tom Robertson

Replacements: Hugh Roach, Paddy Ryan, David Lolohea, David McDuling, Ned Hanigan, Michael Wells, Jake Gordon, David Horwitz


Aidan Toua, Henry Speight, Tevita Kuridrani, Kyle Godwin, Nigel Ah Wong, Wharenui Hawera, Joe Powell, Jordan Smiler, Lolo Fakaosilea, Scott Fardy, Sam Carter (c), Rory Arnold, Allan Alaalatoa, Josh Mann-Rea, Ben Alexander

Replacements: Robbie Abel, Nic Mayhew, Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin, Blake Enever, Ben Hyne, De Wet Roos, Jordan Jackson-Hope, Andrew Smith

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.