Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Brumbies beat Waratahs in Sydney

Live super rugby scores - Live Super Rugby scoring

Live super rugby scores - Live Super Rugby scoring

The Waratahs have played the Brumbies 33 times in Super rugby since 1996 and the Waratahs have won 17 matches, lost 16 times and drawn none.

The Waratahs 17 wins out of 33 matches gives them a record of winning 52% of their matches against the Brumbies regardless of venue.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

The Waratahs kick off and the match is underway.

3.00: Both teams go through several phases in an extended period of play. Eventually, the Waratahs knock on which ends the spell of play.

6.00: The Brumbies go through two phases of play and get into the Waratahs 22. They lose the ball and the Waratahs run the ball to the 5m line.

10.00: Penalty to the Waratahs. Bernard Foley takes the kick and slots it.

13.00: Penalty to the Brumbies. They kick for touch and set up the line out. The Brumbies win the line out and go through six phases when Rory Arnold goes for the line and reaches out to score. TRY! 

14.00: Christian Lealiifano takes the conversion kick and nails it. 3-7.

18.00: The Brumbies get the ball on attack. Tom Banks goes for the line but is stopped, the Brumbies recycle and this time Andy Muirhead rolls over to the line and scores. TRY!

20.00: Lealiifano adds the conversion.

22.00: The Brumbies get the ball on the halfway line. Tevita Kuridrani makes a big piece of ground and offloads to Irae Simone who scores. TRY!

23.00: Lealiifano adds the conversion.

27.00: The Brumbies are keeping the Waratahs under pressure in their half.

30.00: The Brumbies move the ball across the field and the Waratahs almost get an intercept but it is ruled an intentional knock on. Penalty to the Brumbies.

32.00: The Brumbies win the line out, form the maul and drive over the line. TRY! Folau Fainga’a is the tryscorer.

33.00:  Lealiifano adds the conversion.

38.00: The Waratahs get through the Brumbies defence and Damien Fitzpatrick goes for the line but as he goes over he loses the ball. No try.

40.00: The siren sounds for half time. It is half time.

The half time score was Waratahs 3 Brumbies 28

The Brumbies kick off and the second half is underway.

44.00: The Waratahs are trying to keep the ball in hand more so far. They go through 8 phases moving the ball slowly from side to side.

45.00: The Waratahs had the advantage and when nothing comes from their attack the penalty comes. They kick for touch.

46.00: The Waratahs win a line out 7m from the line and start going through the phases.

47.00: The Waratahs work the ball to the 5m line where Nick Phipps sells a dummy and then darts for the line to score. TRY!

48.00: Foley takes the conversion kick and nails it.

55.00: Missed tackles: Waratahs 21 Brumbies 12

56.00: The Brumbies win a scrum inside the Waratahs half. After 7 phases the ball is knocked on as the Waratahs try to intercept. Brumbies scrum.

60.00: The Waratahs try to chip the ball ahead and chase but the Brumbies get back (Muirhead) and secures the ball. The Brumbies clear the ball into touch.

65.00: The Waratahs go through 7 phases and start to flirt with the Brumbies try line. They keep the ball moving through 10 phases and on they go.

66.00: On the 11th phase the ball is knocked on. Scrum.

68.00: The Waratahs win the scrum. They go through two phases and Jed Holloway goes over but loses the ball. No try.

70.00: The Waratahs set up a ruck on the Brumbies 22. The Brumbies defensive line is set so Foley chips the ball through for Adam Ashley-Cooper who races through, picks up the ball and scores. TRY.

71.00: Foley adds the conversion.

73.00: The Brumbies have not scored this half so they are upping the pace again. They attack down the wing but the Waratahs slow the attack. The Brumbies knock on but the ref thinks the Waratahs knocked on so the Brumbies get an attacking scrum.

74.00: The Brumbies win the scrum and Tom Cusack dives over for the line. The TMO checks the try for a knock on and there is no clear and obvious knock so the TRY is awarded.

75.00: Lealiifano slots the conversion.

77.00: The Waratahs win a scrum on the halfway line. The attack is slow but after 4 phases they win a penalty.

79.00: The Waratahs take the line out. The Waratahs win the line out and drive over the line but are held up. The Waratahs get a 5m scrum.

80.00: The Waratahs win the scrum and pass the ball down the line but get called back when they go nowhere for a penalty.

81.00: The Waratahs spread the ball wide and Curtis Rona scores in the corner. TRY! 

82.00: Foley takes the conversion kick from outwide and nails it.

That’s the match.

To refresh this page click HERELive In-Play Betting.

The full time score is Waratahs 24(3) Brumbies 35(28)


Tries – N.Phipps, A.Ashley-Cooper, C.Rona
Pen – B.Foley
Con – B.Foley 3
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – R.Arnold, A.Muirhead, I.Simone, F.Fainga’a, T.Cusack
Pen –
Con – C.Lealiifano 5
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Ref 1: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 2: Jordan way
TMO: George Ayoub



15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Lalakai Foketi, 11 Curtis Rona, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Tom Staniforth, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Tom Robertson.

Replacements: 16 Andrew Tuala/Tolu Latu, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Chris Talakai, 19 Jed Holloway, 20 Will Miller, 21 Jake Gordon, 22 Tuatalatasi Tasi, 23 Cameron Clark.


15 Tom Banks, 14 Andy Muirhead, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Toni Pulu, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Pete Samu, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper

Replacements: 16 Connal Mcinerney, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, 19 Darcy Swain, 20 Lachlan Mccaffrey, 21 Jahrome Brown, 22 Matt Lucas, 23 Tom Wright

Exit mobile version