Super Rugby

Brumbies beat Waratahs in Sydney




The second Super Rugby match on Saturday in Round 8 is an Australian Super Rugby derby match in Sydney between the Waratahs and the Brumbies.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

The Waratahs kick off and the match is underway.

1.00: Penalty to the Waratahs. However Israel Folau suffered a head clash with Jordan Smiler and has gone down. He will have to come off for a concussion test. David Horwitz will come on.

2.00: Foley lines up the kick for posts. He misses.

Joe Tomane tries a chip kick over the top of the Waratahs but the ball goes into touch.

6.00: The Brumbies win the line out – on the Waratahs throw. The Brumbies go out wide and then sweep back to the side and Joe Tomane side-steps Nick Phipps and scores the opening TRY!

7.00: Christian Lealiifano adds the conversion. Despite taking a massive knock , Folau appears to have passed the HIA and is ready to come back on.

10.00: Ben Alexander comes off for blood. He eye has take a massive knock. Paddy Ryan comes on and has to go straight into the scrum. Brumbies ball.

13.00: The Waratahs overthrow the line out and the Brumbies come away with it. They run the ball to the wings and come back inside.

15.00: After three phases the Brumbies get the ball to Tomane and he sprints down the wing, beats Andrew Kelleway with a sidestep and runs in his second TRY!

16.00: Lealiifano misses the conversion.

19.00: The Waratahs get some attacking ball and Tom Robertson has a run in centrefield but is caught. The Waratahs recycle but Dean Mumm knocks on.

21.00: The Waratahs run the ball and Jed Holloway shows some pace as he gets away from the Brumbies and beats Ben Alexander, he offloads to Reece Robinson who scores. TRY!

23.00: Foley slots the conversion from almost the touchline.

25.00: Paddy Ryan is now permanently on for Benn Robinson.

27.00: The Waratahs enjoy some attacking ball in the Brumbies half. The pressure pays off as they are awarded a penalty. Foley will have a shot.

28.00: Foley takes the kick and nails it.

31.00: The Waratahs spread the ball wide on the second phase and Folau gets the ball and races in to score. TRY! Very “flat”pass. Folau has now equalled Lote Tuqiri’s record of Waratahs tries at 29.

32.00: Foley adds the conversion and the Waratahs lead.

34.00: Penalty to the Brumbies. They take the line out.

35.00: The Brumbies win the line out and use the maul. They drive over the line and Stephen Moore scores. TRY!

37.00: Lealiifano adds the conversion. Brumbies lead again.

39.00: The Waratahs set up their attack in the Brumbies 22, they go through 9 phases and send a long pass out to Matt Carraro but the ball is lost and goes to ground.

The siren sounds – it is half time.

The half time score was Waratahs 17 Brumbies 19

The Brumbies kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00: Penalty to the Waratahs for player leaving his feet. Foley kicks for touch.

43.00: When the teams meet for the line out a fight breaks out as Dean Mumm is not happy about something. The Brumbies get a penalty for a late tackle. Foley kicks for the corner.

48.00: The Brumbies use the rolling maul to suck defenders in and they go wide to Joe Tomane on the wing and he dives over to score his hat-trick TRY!

50.00: Lealiifano adds the conversion.

54.00: Penalty against the Waratahs from the breakdown – Jack Dempsey. The Brumbies want the bonus point so they kick to the corner.

56.00: The Brumbies win a penalty after the line out. Instead of going for the posts or the corner they choose a scrum in front of the posts. The Brumbies are told to use it three times and they move forward in the scrum but the referee rules they havent used it so the Brumbies get the scrum put in. Strange call.

58.00: The Waratahs have brought on some fresh legs. They work the ball up and then kick deep into Brumbies territory. The Brumbies win the line out and use the maul but it goes nowhere so the Waratahs have a scrum in the Brumbies 22.

60.00: The Brumbies defend the scrum and kick upfield. The Brumbies chase but then concede a penalty – playing off the feet. Foley kicks for touch.

65.00: The Waratahs have the ball in the Brumbies 22 on attack, the Waratahs turn the ball over and look dangerous but the Waratahs just manage to slow the attack and Tomas Cubelli kicks upfield and the ball goes into touch.

68.00: The Waratahs attack down the wing and Folau makes ground. The Brumbies win a penalty at the breakdown and they kick for touch and the line out.

70.00:The Brumbies win the line out and attack in the Waratahs half. On the fifth phase Tomane gets them into the Waratahs 22 but he is tackled and the ball is lost into touch.

72.00: The TMO is called in to review some foul play. Replays show Wycliff Palu going in with a no arms tackle. He is yellow carded.

76.00: The Brumbies lose Jarrad Butler to the sin-bin (cynical play) so both teams are down to 14 men.

77.00: Penalty to the Waratahs. Foley takes the kick and nails it. Waratahs trail by 6.

78.00: The Brumbies get the ball down into Waratahs territory. The Waratahs turn the ball over and attack. The Brumbies fail to release so the Tahs have a penalty. They kick for touch.

79.00: The Waratahs go to the front in the line out. They move the ball down the line.

80.00: The siren sounds, the Waratahs play on, they get the ball to Folau but he is stopped – the Waratahs recycle and Paddy Ryan loses it forward.

Thats it. The Brumbies have won.

The full time score is Waratahs 20 (17) Brumbies 26 (19)


Tries -R.Robinson, I.Folau
Pen – B.Foley 2
Con – B.Foley 2
Drop –
Cards – W.Palu (72nd min yellow)

Tries – J.Tomane 3, S.Mooore
Pen –
Con – C.Lealiifano 3
Drop –
Cards – J.Butler (76th min yellow)

Attendance : 25,319

Match Officials
Referee: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 1:Brendon Pickerill
Assistant Ref 2:Michael Hogan
TMO : Ian Smith



1. Benn Robinson , 2. Hugh Roach , 3. Tom Robertson , 4. Dean Mumm , 5. Will Skelton , 6. Jack Dempsey , 7. Michael Hooper (C) , 8. Jed Holloway , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Matt Carraro , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Israel Folau , 14. Reece Robinson , 15. Andrew Kellaway

Replacements 16. James Hilterbrand , 17. Paddy Ryan , 18. Angus Ta’avao , 19. Sam Lousi , 20. Wycliff Palu , 21. David Dennis , 22. Matt Lucas , 23. David Horwitz


Scott Sio , Stephen Moore (c) , Ben Alexander , Rory Arnold , Sam Carter , Scott Fardy , Jarrad Butler , Jordan Smiler , Tomás Cubelli , Christian Lealiifano (c) , Joe Tomane , Matt Toomua , Tevita Kuridrani , Robbie Coleman , Aidan Toua

Replacements : Josh Mann-Rea , Allan Alaalatoa , Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin , Tom Staniforth , Michael Wells , Joe Powell , James Dargaville , Nigel Ah Wong


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.