Super Rugby

Waratahs beat Bulls in Sydney



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


Super Rugby moves to Australia in the second match on Saturday as the Waratahs host the Bulls at Allianz Stadium.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

The Waratahs kick off and the match is underway.

Kurtley Beale – who has just signed for Wasps in England goes down in a tackle from the kick off. It doesn’t look good. He seemed to fall awkwardly. The medics are on. They have called for the stretcher. Beale has been put on to the stretcher and is being carried to the medical buggy and is then driven off. Replays of the fall show no signs of where he was injured. Looks to be his knee though.

1.00: The Waratahs win a line out and they pass the ball down the line and Will Skelton knocks it on.

2.00: The Bulls win a penalty from the scrum. The Bulls kick for touch and the line out.

4.00: The Bulls win another penalty from the scrum after the line out. They kick for touch again. This time the Bulls get the ball into the Waratahs 22.

7.00: The Bulls forwards go off their feet and concede a penalty. Foley lines up the posts, takes the kick but misses.

9.00: Referee Glen Jackson spots the Waratahs using obstruction and awards the Bulls a penalty.  The Bulls kick for touch and the line out.

13.00: The Waratahs win a penalty. They will kick for touch. Foley fails to find touch.  The Waratahs medics are saying that it is a posterior cruciate ligament injury for Beale which would put him in doubt for the June Internationals.

14.00: The Bulls counter attack from Foley’s kick and SP Marais slices through. He offloads to Jamba Ulengo who passes to Labuschagne who is tackled and then concedes a penalty. The Waratahs kick for touch.

17.00: The Bulls obstruct this time so the Waratahs get a penalty. Foley kicks for touch. The Waratahs win the line out and move the ball to the wings but they knock on.

22.00: The Bulls kick the ball high and Folau jumps for it. He wins the ball and then wins a penalty.  Foley kicks upfield.

24.00: The Bulls run the ball into the Waratahs 22. They get an advantage and play on. After six phase the Bulls lose the ball. The Waratahs  try to counter but they knock on. Ron Horne almost got away with an intercept and would have been away. Both teams trying to play rugby but strangely not a lot is happening.

28.00: The Waratahs win a penalty and kick for touch.

30.00: The Bulls are caught offside at the ruck. Foley chooses to kick to the corner for the try.

31.00: The Wartahs win the line out and move the ball down the line. The Bulls stop the attack and try to clear buy the ball is charged down. The Waratahs kick wide to the wings but they knock on. The referee calls everyone back for an earlier knock on.

33.00: The Waratahs send a long wide pass out but SP Marais goes for the intercept. He knocks it on.

34.00: The Waratahs win the scrum and they run the ball. Nick Phipps is tackled and gets back up as he was not held and goes again for the line. He scores. TRY!

35.00: Foley adds the conversion and the Waratahs lead.

38.00: The Waratahs knock on which gives the Bulls a scrum.

40.00: The scrum has to be reset a couple of times. The siren sounds and the Bulls win a penalty. The Bulls choose to go for posts.

41.00: Tian Schoeman takes the penalty kick – he nails it.

It’s half time.

The half time score was Waratahs 7 Bulls 3

Tian Schoeman kicks off and the second half is underway.

43.00: The Waratahs get the perfect start as Dean Mumm slips through and scores a TRY!

45.00: Bernard Foley adds the conversion to extend the lead.

49.00: The Waratahs have the ball and are grinding their way towards the Bulls tryline. They get to 10m out and knock on. The Bulls recycle and then kick to clear.

53..00: An update on Beale is that it appears that it is not a posterior cruciate ligament injury and is more like a patellar tendon injury. The Waratahs almost get through but the Bulls scramble and get back to stop the attack. The Bulls kick the ball upfield.

54.00: The Waratahs counter attack and  Tatafu Polota-Nau breaks down the win but is caught. The Bulls concede a penalty in the process for offside.

55.00: Bernard Foley slots the penalty and extends the lead.

59.00: The Bulls work the ball up to the Waratahs 5m line. They go through 13 phases but then concede a penalty. Not releasing.

60.00: Foley clears the ball into touch on the half way line.

65.00: The Waratahs win a scrum and get the ball into the Bulls 22.

66.00: The Bulls scramble in defence and force the Waratahs into knocking on.

68.00: The Bulls kick well upfield. Foley kicks the ball back and appears to go for a drop goal. He misses. The Bulls kick off with a restart. The Waratahs get the ball to Folau who slips through one. The Waratahs keep the ball alive and Nick Phipps slips through a weak tackle and races for the line and scores his second TRY! Phipps got the ball from Folau.

70.00: Foley adds the conversion.

73.00: The Waratahs lose their shape as the Bulls suck a few defenders and Dries Swanepoel races for the corner and scores. TRY!

74.00: Schoeman takes the conversion but misses.

77.00: The Waratahs set up an attacking line out in the Bulls 22. They win the line out and go through the phases. Carraro goes for the line but loses the ball. The Waratahs are called back for an advantage. The Bulls lose Lappies Labuschagne to the sin bin.

78.00: The Waratahs drive for the line and Angus Ta’avao scores. TRY ! Bonus point.

Foley adds the conversion.

Thats it the Waratahs have won.

The full time is Waratahs 31 (7) Bulls 8 (3) 


Tries – N.Phipps 2, D.Mumm
Pen – B.Foley
Con – B.Foley 4
Drop –
Cards –

Tries -D.Swanepoel
Pen -T.Schoeman
Con –
Drop –
Cards – L.Labuschagne (78th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 1:Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Ref 2:James Leckie
TMO : George Ayoub



1. Paddy Ryan ,2. Tatafu Polota-Nau,3. Tom Robertson ,4. David Dennis ,5. Will Skelton,6. Dean Mumm ,7. Michael Hooper (c), 8. Wycliff Palu ,9. Nick Phipps ,10. Bernard Foley ,11. Rob Horne ,12. Kurtley Beale ,13. Israel Folau,14. Reece Robinson ,15. Andrew Kellaway ,

Replacements:16. Hugh Roach ,17. Jeremy Tilse,18. Angus Ta’avao ,19. Sam Lousi,20. Ned Hanigan / Jack Dempsey 21. Matt Lucas,22. David Horwitz ,23. Matt Carraro,


SP Marais, Jamba Ulengo, Jesse Kriel, Jan Serfontein, Bjorn Basson, Tian Schoeman, Rudy Paige, Hanro Liebenberg, Jannes Kirsten, Lappies Labuschagne, RG Snyman, Jason Jenkins, Marcel van der Merwe, Adriaan Strauss (c), Lizo Gqoboka.

Replacements: Jaco Visagie, Trevor Nyakane, Pierre Schoeman, Marvin Orie, Roelof Smit, Piet van Zyl, Francois Brummer, Dries Swanepoel.


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.