Super Rugby

Chiefs beat Waratahs in Sydney




The Chiefs have won their last three Super Rugby games against the NSW Waratahs and will be looking to log a club-record fourth consecutive win against them.

The Waratahs have lost their last 12 consecutive Super Rugby games; only twice in the history of the competition has any team endured a longer losing run (Lions – 17 games from May 2009 to March 2011 and Cats – 13 games from March 2003 to April 2004).

  • The Chiefs have won only three of their last 11 Super Rugby games away from home (L8); although, seven of those 11 games have been decided by a margin of fewer than seven points on the day.
  • The Chiefs have crossed the gain line on 66% of their carries this Super Rugby Trans-Tasman campaign, the highest percentage of any team in the competition.
  • Lalakai Foketi has made four break passes in Super Rugby Trans-Tasman, the joint second-most of any player (also Harry Wilson and Mitch Hunt).

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway at the Brookvale Oval in Sydney for the final game of Super Rugby Trans-Tasman Round 5.

2.00: TRY! Sean Wainui opens the scoring after a slick lineout move. The ball went to the backs, who used decoy runners from depth before Bryn Gatland sent the winger away in the corner. 0-5

3.00: CONVERSION! Gatland adds the extras. 0-7

5.00: Good work by the NSW pack, they defended the Chiefs’ maul, winning the put-in on their 5m.

7.00: Offsides by the Tahs, the Chiefs kick to the corner.

8.00: NSW wins the overthrown lineout, and counter-attacks from their 22 to the halfway line. A kicking duel ensues before Gatland puts the ball into touch.

11.00: The Waratahs win the first scrum penalty of the night, Will Harrison boots his side into the Chiefs’ 22.

12.00: The Chiefs are held up after Trask’s dink-kick put the home team under pressure near their try line. Izaia Perese leaves the field in pain, he is holding his arm, it looks bad. Chiefs win the penalty, opt for a scrum.

14.00: Lalakai Foketi intercepts, but the scrum had collapsed – Chiefs go again.

15.00: TRY! Bryn Gatland throws a long cut-out pass to Wainui, who takes the ball on the bounce, and runs in untouched for his second. 0-12

16.00: CONVERSION! Gatland slots the wide kick. 0-14

18.00: Wainui takes the ball dead after Harrison’s poor penalty, but it’s a goal-line drop-out.

20.00: The Waratahs are dropping like flies. Perese is off, Tetra Faulkner went down in the warm-ups and now Lalakai Foketi is getting bandaged around his ankle.

22.00: Jack Whetton drops the ball with no one about to tackle him, it kills a good opportunity for NSW, who were camped inside the Chiefs’ 22.

23.00: Luke Jacobson breaks off a powerful scrum and races halfway. The No. 8 pops a pass to the supporting Brad Weber, who continues the attack; however, the scrumhalf could not get his pass away to Shaun Stevenson, and the ball went forward.

25.00: Izaia Perese dislocated his shoulder, he will more than likely be out of the French Test series.

27.00: Held up, on-field “no try” so the Chiefs will have to defend another lineout maul because of the two penalties for offside.

28.00: YELLOW CARD! Lachlan Boshier is off for 10. 0-14

29.00: NOT STRAIGHT! Can you believe it! The Tahs botch an attacking lineout despite having seven v eight.

31.00: The reset scrum leads to a penalty for the New Zealand side. That is a poor series of events for the hosts.

33.00: A high tackle gives the Tahs a chance at another attacking lineout.

35.00: TRY! Mark Nawaqanitawase beats Kaleb Trask to Will Harrison’s crossfield bomb and dots down for the Tahs’ first points. 5-14

36.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 7-14

38.00: Boshier is back on the field, his card cost seven points.

39.00: Weber is offside, Harrison kicks to the corner.

40.00: Lineout again not straight, it goes with one overthrown.

The halftime score was NSW Waratahs 7 Chiefs 14

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway in Australia.

43.00: Lachlan Swinton is offside, Gatland goes to the corner.

45.00: Nothing comes from the attack as Pita Gus Sowakula knocks on before the line.

46.00: TRY! Wainui has a hat-trick! The winger stepped inside Nawaqanitawase and darted over. 7-19

47.00: CONVERSION! Gatland adds the extras. 7-21

49.00: It’s all Chiefs.

50.00: TRY! Wainui has four, that was sublime. 7-26

52.00: CONVERSION! Gatland converts. 7-28

55.00: Tahs win a penalty near their line after a quick-tap penalty is botched by the visitors.

60.00: The Tahs have had lots of good opportunities, they just can’t find that final pass, or hang onto a pass that might open up the opponent.

62.00: A 13-phase attack comes to nothing as the Waratahs are held up.

64.00: YELLOW CARD! Tupou Vaa’i is farcically yellow-carded for a head clash with Harrison. That is a disgraceful call. 7-28

65.00: NO TRY! James Ramm’s foot is on the line, that was a good tackle by Chase Tiatia. 7-28

68.00: Chiefs win back-to-back penalties to relieve the pressure. The Tahs are now defending inside their half after being camped on the Chiefs’ try line.

71.00: TRY! Tom Florence with an expert finish in the corner gets his side’s fifth try and seals the bonus-point win. 7-33

72.00: CONVERSION! Trask slots the touchline kick. 7-35

75.00: Vaa’i is back on the paddock.

76.00: RED CARD! Lachlan Swinton is sent off for a dangerous high shot at the breakdown – goodbye! 7-35

80.00: TRY! Wainui makes history with his fifth try, the first player to ever score five in a Super Rugby match.

81.00: MISS! The kick is wide – game over. The Tahs remain winless.


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is NSW Waratahs 7 (7) Chiefs 40 (14)


Tries – Nawaqanitawase
Pen –
Con – Harrison
Drop –
Cards – Swinton (Red, 76′)

Tries – Wainui (5), Florence
Pen –
Con – Gatland (4), Trask
Drop –
Cards – Boshier (Yellow, 28′), Tupou Vaa’i (Yellow, 64′)

Match Officials
Referee: Jordan way
Assistant Ref 1: Damon Murphy
Assistant Ref 2: Reuben Keane
TMO: Brett Cronan



15 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 14 Alex Newsome (captain), 13 Izaia Perese, 12 Lalakai Foketi, 11 James Ramm, 10 Will Harrison, 9 Jack Grant, 8 Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco, 7 Jack Dempsey, 6 Lachlan Swinton 5 Jack Whetton, 4 Hugh Sinclair, 3 Chris Talakai, 2 Tom Horton, 1 Andrew Tuala

16 Robbie Abel, 17 Pek Cowan, 18 , 19 Sam Caird, 20 Jeremy Williams, 21 Will Harris, 22 Henry Robertson, 23 Tane Edmed


15 Kaleb Trask, 14 Shaun Stevenson, 13 Alex Nankivell, 12 Quinn Tupaea, 11 Sean Wainui, 10 Bryn Gatland, 9 Brad Weber (captain), 8 Luke Jacobson, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Pita Gus Sowakula, 5 Tupou Vaa’i, 4 Zane Kapeli, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Bradley Slater, 1 Aidan Ross

16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 Reuben O’Neill, 19 Viliami Taulani, 20 Tom Florence, 21 Xavier Roe, 22 Anton Lienert-Brown, 23 Chase Tiatia

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.