Super Rugby

Waratahs beat Reds in Sydney




The Waratahs and the Reds have played each other 30 times in Super Rugby, the Tahs winning 16 games and the Queenslanders 13 while drawing once.

It is only a 53% winning percentage for the Waratahs since 1996.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kickoff.

1.00: PEEEEP! we are underway at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

2.00: MISS! Bryce Hegarty misses an early chance to put the Reds ahead. nil-nil

5.00: Kurtley Beale goes close but he loses the ball trying to reach for the line. It’s a penalty to the Tahs because of offsides in the previous series.

7.00: PENALTY! Bernard Foley puts his side ahead. 3-nil

8.00: Another penalty will give Foley a chance to double the lead.

9.00: PENALTY! The stand-off makes no mistake. 6-nil

12.00: The game is a bit stop-start because the scrums are a mess.

14.00: Referee Glen Jackson has had enough and penalised the attacking team. A big chance is gone for the Reds, there.

15.00: Lukhan Salakaia-Loto loses the ball, killing another attack.

18.00: Jake Gordon breaks and makes a bee-line for the try-line; however, he is chased down by Hegarty and tackled into touch.

20.00: YELLOW CARD! The Waratahs win a penalty after losing a lineout. They go quick, but JP Smith infringes with Michael Hooper, who took a quick-tap. The prop is sent to the bin for his efforts. 

21.00: TRY! Ned Hanigan comes from depth and hits the gain line with power. He cannot be stopped from that close and he scores by the posts. 11-nil

22.00: CONVERSION! Foley makes no mistake. 13-nil

25.00: The Reds are stringing together some phases. Jed Holloway kills the attack, deliberately knocking the ball down. Hegarty kicks to the corner.

27.00: TRY! Samu Kerevi sees that there are no ‘pillars’ at the breakdown, picks up the ball at halfback and goes through the middle and scores. Just like that! 13-5

28.00: CONVERSION! Hegarty adds the extras. 13-7

30.00: The turf is tearing up from the scrums, at the SCG.

32.00: The Waratahs are using their kicking game to good effect, Foley and Beale both pinning the Reds’ back three inside their 22.

34.00: New South Wales win a penalty for offsides. Foley puts the ball out in the corner. Queensland under the pump.

35.00: Liam Wright is caught offsides after Hegarty had won a turnover. Hooper opts for the posts because the penalty is in front.

36.00: PENALTY! Foley edges closer to 1,000 Super Rugby points. 16-7

37.00: Taniela Tupou goes through a hole in the ruck, but he’s tripped up. The Reds retain possession and are marching down the field.

38.00: TRY! Just before halftime. Kerevi holds up three defenders before sending Chris Feauai-Sautia away down the touchline. Beale is livid with himself for the error. 16-12

39.00: MISS! Hegarty’s kick is wide. 16-12

41.00: Tupou is tackled into touch, and that’s halftime.

The halftime score was Waratahs 16 Reds 12

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway at the SCG.

41.00: TRY! Beale takes a high-ball and sets an attack by beating two defenders. He pops to Curtis Rona, who slips Moses Sorovi’s tackle and busts through two more defenders to score in the corner. 21-12

43.00: MISS! Foley can’t add the extras. 21-12

46.00: The Waratahs are enjoying possession. Beale is looking dangerous and so too Rona, on his outside. Izzy Folau has been quiet.

48.00: Kerevi is doing the lion’s share of the defending in midfield. The Reds need him to be creating, not just defending. NSW’s forwards have been poor at the breakdown, but have got away with it because of Queensland’s inability to control the slippery ball.

51.00: The scrums are a mess. I’m not sure how much time has been lost with reset scrums, but it’s a lot.

52.00: Izaak Rodda charges down Foley’s clearance but, fortunately for the stand-off, the ball rolls over the dead-ball line.

55.00: Queensland are starting to string together some phases; they making metres, going 15 phases before giving away a silly penalty.

56.00: Wright wins the penalty at the breakdown. He uses his body position to get low and get his hands on the ball. Adam Ashley-Cooper is pinged for holding.

58.00: Another penalty allows the Reds to kick to the corner. OH DEAR! The lineout throw is not straight. That is poor from Alex Mafi.

59.00: Brad Thorn will be raging in the coach’s booth. His team has just collapsed the scrum and released the pressure on the Tahs.

62.00: We have entered the final quarter of the game.

63.00: Another turnover stops a promising Reds’ attack.

66.00: TRY! It’s Super Sefa Naivalu, who collects Hegarty’s grubber kick and scores out of nowhere. The kick finally comes off for the Reds. 21-17

67.00: MISS! Hegarty is having a nightmare from the tee, missing his third kick of the night, which is proving costly on the scoreboard. 21-17

70.00: TRY! Alex Newsome bursts through some poor defending. The Tahs used their pick-and-drives to good effect, knocking the visitors backwards before unleashing the fresh legs of Newsome. 26-17

71.00: CONVERSION! Foley adds the extras. 28-17

74.00: The Reds are in a good position, but they knock on inside the Tahs’ 22.

76.00: Time is running out for Queensland. Thorn will be hoping for something, anything.

77.00: Angus Scott-Young can’t get his knee down and is held up. That about does it for the visitors.

80.00: Beale sends a returnable kick back into touch. Not long to go, now.

81.00: The hooter blows, the maul is held-up and that is the ball-game.


In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Waratahs 28 (16) Reds 17 (12)


Tries – Hanigan, Rona Newsome
Pen – Foley (2)
Con – Foley (3)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Kerevi, Feauai-Sautia, Naivalu
Pen –
Con – Hegarty
Drop –
Cards – Smith (Yellow, 20′)

Match Officials
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 1: AJ Jacobs
Assistant Ref 2: Amy Perrett
TMO: James Leckie


Waratahs: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Israel Folau, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Curtis Rona, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Jed Holloway, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Harry Johnson-Holmes.

Replacements: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Rory O’Connor, 18 Chris Talakai, 19 Lachlan Swinton, 20 Will Miller, 21 Mitch Short, 22 Mack Mason, 23 Alex Newsome.

Reds: 15 Isaac Lucas, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Samu Kerevi (captain), 12 Duncan Paia’aua, 11 Sefa Naivalu, 10 Bryce Hegarty, 9 Moses Sorovi, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 Liam Wright, 6 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 5 Harry Hockings, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 JP Smith.

Replacements: 16 Alex Mafi, 17 Harry Hoopert, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Caleb Timu, 20 Angus Scott-Young, 21 Tate McDermott, 22 Hamish Stewart, 23 Jack Hardy.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.