Super Rugby

Waratahs vs Reds live Super Rugby score update




The first Australian Super Rugby derby match in Round 1 is between the 2011 Super Rugby champions the Reds and the 2014 Champion Waratahs.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

0.01: The Reds kick off and we are underway.

2.00: The Reds go through 7 phases but can’t make a lot of ground. The ball goes dead so we have a scrum on the half way line.

3.00 : Penalty against Greg Holmes so the Waratahs take a quick tap. The Reds tackle high so the Waratahs have a penalty.

5.00: Beale takes the penalty shot and nails it. The Waratahs lead.

7.00: The Reds concede their fourth penalty so they get a warning. The Waratahs kick for the corner.

8.00: The Waratahs win the line out and they drive the maul over the line and Michael Hooper scores. TRY!

10.00: Beale just misses the conversion to the left of the posts.

12.00: Having been warned Rob Simmons is yellow carded for being offside. Waratahs choose the line out and go for the try.

14.00: The Reds almost get away with an intercept try of sorts but Karmichael Hunt is called back for lost forward.

18.00: Zac Guildford puts in a kick and chase and Matt Carraro gets there and scores. The TMO checks.

22.00: The Waratahs are in again as Horwitz scores. Beale adds the conversion.

25.00: Ayumu Goromaru comes on for the Reds.

33.00: The Reds are startiing to enjoy a lot more territory in the Waratahs half. Goromaru sees space behind the Tahs so he kicks and the Reds chase.

35.00: The Reds go through 10 phases on attack in the Waratahs half. The whistle goes for a knock on. Handbags come out and we have a group argument.

38.00: The Referee gives both sets of props a warning for collapsing the scrums.

40.00: Penalty to the Reds. They choose the line out (new rules).

41.00: The Reds can’t do anything with the line out and time runs out. Its half time.

The half time score was Waratahs 20 Reds 0

The Waratahs kick off and the second half is underway.

43.00: The Reds win a penaly just inside the Waratahs half about 37m out. He takes his time and nails it.

49.00: The Waratahs aren’t playing with the same spark that they started with and the Reds are coming back. The Reds win a penalty but this time Goromaru misses.

56.00: The Reds are playing the game in the Waratahs half and testing the Waratahs defence.

57.00: The Reds win a penalty in front of the posts for not rolling away.

58.00: The Reds choose a scrum for the penalty. They win the scrum and the Reds put the Tahs line under pressure in the forwards. The Reds move the ball out to the backs and Jake McIntyre slips through to score. TRY!

59.00: Goromaru adds the conversion.

61.00: The Waratahs immediately hit back. Folau starts the break, Beale chips the ball ahead and Phipps chases and gets to the ball and scores. TRY ! In that Beale did a “Hollywood” dive looking for a penalty but has miraculously recovered and converts the try.

64.00: Beale comes off for a mandatory concussion test.

68.00: The Reds lose Sam Talakai to the sin-bin for 10 minutes for cynical play. The Waratahs kick for posts for the penalty. Bryce Hegarty takes the kick and nails it.

70.00: The TMO reports a neck roll so the Reds have a penalty.  They will kick for the corner.

75.00: The Reds win another penalty from the scrum so the Waratahs are on a warning. Reds scrum 5 out.

77.00: After several re-sets the Waratahs lose Jeremy Tilse to the sin bin. It will be uncontested scrums from now on.

79.00: The Reds put the Waratahs under pressure in the corner but the ball goes into touch. The Reds win the ball from a line out but then lose it. The Waratahs run it but they too lose it. Another scrum.

80.00: The Waratahs get the ball as the siren sounds. Carraro kicks it into touch and the Waratahs have won with a bonus point.

The full time score is Waratahs 30 (20) Reds 10 (0)


Tries – Hooper, Carraro, Horwitz, Phipps
Pen – Beale, Hegarty
Con – Beale 2
Drop –
Cards -J. Tilse (77th min yellow)

Tries – J.McIntyre
Pen -A. Goromaru
Con – A. Goromaru
Drop –
Cards -R.Simmons (13th min yellow), Sam Talakai (yellow 69th min)

Match Officials
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1:Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 2:James Leckie
TMO : George Ayoub



1. Paddy Ryan , 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau , 3. Angus Ta’avao ( Waratahs debut) , 4. Dean Mumm , 5. Will Skelton , 6. David Dennis (VC) , 7. Michael Hooper (C s) , 8. Jed Holloway , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Kurtley Beale , 11. Zac Guildford ( Waratahs debut ) , 12. David Horwitz (Waratahs debut) , 13. Rob Horne , 14. Matt Carraro , 15. Israel Folau

Replacements : 16. Tolu Latu , 17. Benn Robinson , 18. Jeremy Tilse , 19. Sam Lousi , 20. Jack Dempsey , 21. Matt Lucas , 22. Bryce Hegarty , 23. Reece Robinson


1. Ben Daley , 2. Saia Fainga’a , 3. Greg Holmes , 4. Cadeyrn Neville (Queensland debut) , 5. Rob Simmons (C) , 6. Hendrik Tui , 7. Curtis Browning , 8. Jake Schatz , 9. Nick Frisby , 10. Jake McIntyre , 11. Eto Nabuli (Queensland/Super Rugby debut) , 12. Henry Taefu (Queensland/Super Rugby debut) , 13. Samu Kerevi , 14. Chris Feauai-Sautia , 15. Karmichael Hunt

Replacements : 16. Andrew Ready , 17. Sef Fa’agase , 18. Sam Talakai , 19. Ben Matwijow (Queensland/Super Rugby debut) , 20. Michael Gunn , 21. Scott Gale , 22. Sam Greene , 23. Ayumu Goromaru (Queensland/Super Rugby debut)


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.