Super Rugby

Waratahs beat Western Force in Sydney




Sydney Super Rugby franchise the Waratahs kick off their 2017 Super Rugby season with an Australian home derby match against the Western Force.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off. A moment of silence for Dan Vickerman first though.

0.001: The Waratahs kick off and the match is underway.

0.29 : Penalty to the Waratahs for not releasing. They will have a shot at goal.

2.00: Reece Robinson takes the kick and nails it. Waratahs lead.

4.00: Penalty to the Waratahs for obstruction by Brynard Stander. The Tahs kick for touch and the line out.

6.00: The Waratahs win the line out but some poor handling sees the ball being knocked forward. There is also a late tackle so the Waratahs have a penalty. They kick for touch and the line out.

8.00: Another penalty to the Waratahs for not releasing. Robinson will have another shot at goal.

10.00: Robinson nails the kick and extends the Waratahs lead.

16.00: The Force get some ball but Dane Haylett-Petty kicks from deep but the ball goes straight to the Waratahs who put in into touch. The Force win the line out and work it into the Waratahs 22.

20.00: Penalty for a high tackle by the Waratahs so the Force kick for touch to the corner.

21.00: The Force win the line out and chip the ball behind the Waratahs but Rob Horne just gets back to save the try. We go back for a penalty. The Force take the line out and kick wide.

22.00: Sekope Kepu is yellow carded for a dangerous tackle. The Force take the 5m line out again.

25.00:The Force get a scrum about 10m out. They win the scrum and former Waratah Jono Lance slips through and scores next to the posts. TRY!

27.00: Lance adds the conversion. The Force lead.

31.00: The Waratahs test the Force with a high ball and chase by Andrew Kellaway but Dane Haylett-Petty is solid. The Force can’t recycle the ball though and Tolu Latu wins a penalty for the Tahs. Robinson will have a shot at goal.

33.00: Robinson slots the penalty. Waratahs lead.

36.00: Penalty to the Force for early engagement at the scrum. Jono Lance lines up the posts for a shot at goal.

37.00: Lance takes the shot and strikes it well. It’s over. The Force lead again.

39.00: The Force are awarded another penalty. Lance takes another kick at goal. He nails it and extends the lead.

40.00: The siren sounds for half time and the ball is kicked into touch. It is half time.

The half time score was Waratahs 9 Western Force 13

The Force kick off and the second half is underway.

43.00: The Waratahs set up a line out in the Force’22. They win the line out and Tolu Latu makes some ground with a powerful run. The Waratahs keep the ball moving and get the ball to the 5m line.

44.00: After 9 phases the Waratahs win a penalty and they tap and go and Will Skelton crashes over and scores. That is just Skelton’s second Super Rugby try.

45.00: Robinson slots the conversion and the Waratahs lead.

48.00: The Waratahs have upped their intensity for the second half. Rob Horne almost gets through to score but he recycles and the ball goes out wide scrappily to Reece Robinson who has to reach for the ball and steps in touch. The pass was however just forward. Force scrum.

49.00: Former Waratah Tatafu Polota-Nau is on for the Western Force.

51.00: The Waratahs set up a maul and drive over the line. The Waratahs think they have scored but the referee says the maul went down short so the Force have a scrum.

53.00: The TMO is called in to review a high tackle – around the neck – by Bill Meakes on Michael Hooper. The result is just a penalty. Bryce Hegarty kicks for touch and the line out.

54.00: The Waratahs have gone to the bench. Paddy Ryan comes on for Tom Robertson who has moved to the other side and Sekope Kepu to the bench.

58.00: Matt Lucas tries to find space behind the Force but the ball goes out so we go back to near the half way line for a scrum.

62.00: The Waratahs test Dane Haylett-Petty under the high ball again and this time it slips straight through his hands and gives the Tahs a scrum.

64.00: The Force run the ball at the Waratahs and the get the ball into the Tahs 22. The ball goes out but the Force will have the line out.

65.00: The Waratahs steal the line out ball and kick it back to the Force. The Tahs chase and regain the ball. Skelton has a run but is caught and knocks it forward on the half way line.

71.00: The Force bring their main playmaker Jono Lance off and bring on Ian Prior.

73.00: Penalty to the Waratahs from the scrum. Robinson lines up the kick from well out. He nails it. That’s five from five. The Force now need a converted try to win.

76.00: Another scrum goes down and has to be reset. Time is running out for the Force and the Waratahs have the put in.

The Force try to defend as the Waratahs attack but Richard Hardwick accidentally spear tackles Israel Folau and is yellow carded.

Reece Robinson lines up the posts for the penalty and this one he misses – as the siren sound. That’s it the Waratahs have won.

Live In-Play Betting.

The full time score is Waratahs 19 (9) Western Force 13 (13)


Tries – W.Skelton
Pen – R.Robinson 4
Con – R.Robinson
Drop –
Cards – S.Kepu (22nd min yellow)

Western Force
Tries – J.Lance
Pen – J.Lance 2
Con – J.Lance
Drop –
Cards –  R.Hardwick( 79th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Ref 1:Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 2:Will Houston
TMO :Ian Smith



15 Andrew Kellaway, 14 Reece Robinson, 13 Israel Folau, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bryce Hegarty, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Jack Dempsey, 5 Will Skelton, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 Tom Robertson

Replacements: 16 Hugh Roach, 17 Paddy Ryan, 18 David Lolohea, 19 David McDuling, 20 Brad Wilkin, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 David Horwitz, 23 Taqele Naiyaravoro

Western Force

15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Luke Morahan, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Bill Meakes, 11 Chance Peni, 10 Jono Lance, 9 Ryan Louwrens, 8 Richard Hardwick, 7 Kane Koteka, 6 Brynard Stander, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Ross Haylett-Petty, 3 Jermaine Ainsley, 2 Heath Tessmann (c), 1 Pek Cowan

Replacements: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Ben Daley, 18 Tetera Faulkner, 19 Matt Philip, 20 Isireli Naisarani, 21 Michael Ruru, 22 Ian Prior, 23 Alex Newsome

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.