Western Force name team to play Waratahs




Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


The Western Force have named their team to play current Super Rugby champions
the Waratahs on Sunday with lock Sam Wykes as captain.

The 2015 Super Rugby season will be the Western Force’s 10th year in Super
Rugby after they joined in 2006 through the Super 14.

Twenty-six-year-old Wykes will become the ninth player to lead the Force in
Super Rugby, a responsibility he takes on in the absence of Matt Hodgson, who
will be sidelined until after the Week Eight bye with a hamstring injury.

Wykes, who will team up with Adam Coleman in the second row, will pack down
behind the club’s all-Wallaby front row of Pek Cowan, Nathan Charles and Tetera
Faulkner, with Cowan in line to equal Nathan Sharpe’s 92 matches for the Western
Force – second only to Hodgson, who has played 113 matches for the club.

Chris Alcock, whose 2014 season was limited to just three matches due to a
shoulder injury, makes his return to the starting XV to line up alongside Ben
McCalman and Angus Cottrell in the back row.

In the backline, Kyle Godwin will make his first start in the ’13’ jersey in
Super Rugby having previously run on at inside centre in 24 of his 27 matches.
He will team up with Junior Rasolea in the centres – the ninth time the pair
have started in the midfield together at this level.

In the halves, Alby Mathewson and Sias Ebersohn will renew their partnership,
while Marcel Brache, Luke Morahan and Dane Haylett-Petty will form the Western
Australian back three.

On the bench, lock/flanker Steve Mafi is in line for his first appearance in
Super Rugby after joining the Western Force from UK club, the Leicester Tigers.

Western Force Head Coach Michael Foley says his side is looking forward to
kicking off its 2015 season this weekend.

“Playing the champions at their home is a good test for us first up,” he said.

“Having pushed each other day after day throughout the pre-season, the boys
are keen to get the season started. ,

“Sam will lead the team and while Pek, Ben and Alby will support him, every
player understands the significance of performing their roles for each other.”

Western Force

1. Pekahou Cowan , 2. Nathan Charles , 3. Tetera Faulkner , 4. Sam Wykes (c)
, 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Angus Cottrell , 7. Chris Alcock , 8. Ben McCalman ,
9. Alby Mathewson , 10. Sias Ebersohn , 11. Marcel Brache , 12. Solomoni Jnr
Rasolea , 13. Kyle Godwin , 14. Luke Morahan , 15. Dane Haylett-Petty

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann , 17. Francois van Wyk , 18. Oliver Hoskins
, 19. Steve Mafi** , 20. Brynard Stander , 21. Ian Prior , 22. Zack Holmes ,
23. Luke Burton ,

** denotes Western Force/Super Rugby debut

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.