Super Rugby

Western Force beat the Waratahs in Perth




The Western Force and the NSW Waratahs have met 21 times in Super Rugby, the Force has won seven games, lost 13 times, and drawn once.

The Force have played 11 Super Rugby matches at home, they have won three and lost eight games.

  • Western Force logged a 20-16 win against the NSW Waratahs when they met earlier this season (Rd 3) and will now be hunting for two wins against them in a single Super Rugby season for just the second time (2015).
  • NSW has lost their last six Super Rugby games in succession; the last and only previous time they lost more in succession was a nine-game stretch from April 2012 to February 2013.
  • The Western Force has scored the opening try of the game in seven of their last nine Super Rugby games against the NSW Waratahs; although, they conceded the first try of the game when they last met in March this year.
  • NSW Waratahs have scored three tries on possession begun with a kick return this Super Rugby AU campaign, the most of any team in the competition.
  • Harry Johnson-Holmes has crossed for a try in four of his last seven games away from home in Super Rugby, including one in his last away game against Western Force (Rd 7, 2020 Super Rugby AU).

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway in Perth, Western Australia.

2.00: YELLOW CARD! Lachlan Swinton goes to the bin for a maul infringement. 0-0

3.00: TRY! Tom Robertson crashes over from close range. 5-0

4.00: CONVERSION! Domingo Miotti adds the extras. 7-0

7.00: The Waratahs are all over the place, the Force is dominating them out wide and in close contact. The hosts win another penalty inside the NSW 22. Miotti calls for the tee.

8.00: PENALTY! Miotti knocks the ball through the posts. 10-0

11.00: A decent attack for the Waratahs ends near the Force’s goal line after Harry Johnson-Holmes knocks on.

13.00: The scrums are taking an age, the ref needs to get a hold on this.

14.00: Santiago Medrano slips, collapsing the scrum. The Tahs turn down the three points as well as the chance at a driving maul; they want to scrum.

16.00: TRY Will Harris barges his way over from close range to get the Tahs on the board. 10-5

17.00: CONVERSION! Ben Donaldson DROP-KICKS after the ball fell off the tee, and he ran out of time. 10-7

18.00: NO TRY! Jeremy Thrush knocks on while trying to dot down his charge down for Jake Gordon. 10-7

20.00: Izaia Perese wins an important penalty at the ruck for the Tahs.

23.00: James Ramm runs into the boiler room duo of Sitaleki Timani and Jeremy Thrush, and gets put back on his backside. But the Tahs get the penalty for offside.

23.00: PENALTY! Donaldson levels. 10-10

25.00: TRY! Feleti Kaitu’u catches the Tahs napping. The hooker stripped the ball off teammate Santiago Medrano, breaks blind, and raced away to score. 15-10

26.00: MISS! Miotti cannot convert. 15-10

28.00: Feleti Kaitu’u wins the penalty at the breakdown to stop a Waratahs attack.

32.00: The Tahs are still under the pump, here. They can’t seem to get out of their half. It just seems a matter of time before the Force gets another try.

35.00: DROP-GOAL! Miotti sits back in the pocket and slots the drop-kick. The Western Force was on another sustained, multi-phase attack but going nowhere, so the flyhalf took the points. 18-10

37.00: It’s still a bot of an arm-wrestle, albeit, a one-sided one. Ramm loses the ball forward after Jack McGregor’s hit.

39.00: Obstruction off the ball by Sinclair. Miotti kicks to the 22.

40.00: Tevita Kuridrani cannot latch onto Miotti’s dink-kick. The ball bounces out over the dead-ball line.

41.00: Waratahs win their scrum, Gordon clears – halftime.

The halftime score was Western Force 18 NSW Waratahs 10

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway at HBF Park, Perth.

43.00: TRY! Some superb inter-passing by the Waratahs ends with Jack Maddocks barging over after taking Ben Donaldson’s offload.

44.00: CONVERSION! Donaldson from out wide lands the two. 18-17

46.00: The Tahs seems a little more direct since the break. They win a penalty and clear their lines.

47.00: TRY! Maddocks turns provider this time, breaking the line, and sending Alex Newsome over in the corner. 18-22

48.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good, what a turnaround! 18-24

51.00: The Force earns a kickable penalty in front of the sticks.

52.00: PENALTY! Miotti slots the kick. 21-24

57.00: The game is still very stop-start, and dull.

60.00: We are entering the last quarter, the Force has an attacking lineout on the opposition’s 22.

63.00: Before anyone loses their mind, this game is not built on good defence, but rather poor attacking play. Both teams are struggling to create anything concrete when they have possession. Not a game for the purist, either.

68.00: PENALTY! Donaldson extends his side’s lead. 21-27

69.00: Another obstruction penalty by the hosts, Donaldson will take another shot, too.

70.00: PENALTY! Donaldson extends. 21-30

73.00: TRY! Jordan Olowofela finishes in the corner to give his side some hope. 26-30

74.00: CONVERSION! Miotti adds the extras. 28-30

76.00: Force wins a long-range penalty from behind the halfway line.

77.00: MISS! Miotti does not have the legs, his kick falls well short. 28-30

79.00: Brynard Stander is tackled into touch – what are you doing!

81.00: The hooter sounds, but the Force has one last attack after regaining possession. Hang on!

85.00: PENALTY! Miotti wins it for the Force. 31-30


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Western Force 31 (18) Waratahs 30 (10)


Western Force
Tries – Robertson, Kaitu’u, Olowofela
Pen – Miotti (3)
Con – Miotti (2)
Drop – Miotti
Cards –

Tries – Harris, Maddocks, Newsome
Pen – Donaldson (3)
Con – Donaldson (3)
Drop –
Cards – Swinton (Yellow, 2′)

Match Officials
Referee: Amy Perrett
Assistant Ref 1: Graham Cooper
Assistant Ref 2: Matthew Kellahan
TMO: James Leckie


Western Force

15 Jack McGregor, 14 Richard Kahui, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin (captain), 11 Jordan Olowofela, 10 Domingo Miotti, 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Brynard Stander, 7 Kane Koteka, 6 Tim Anstee, 5 Sitaleki Timani, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Feleti Kaitu’u, 1 Tom Robertson

16 Andrew Ready, 17 Angus Wagner, 18 Greg Holmes, 19 Ryan McCauley, 20 Fergus Lee-Warner, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Grason Makara, 23 Jake Strachan


15 Jack Maddocks, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Izaia Perese, 12 Lalakai Foketi, 11 James Ramm, 10 Ben Donaldson, 9 Jake Gordon (captain), 8 Will Harris, 7 Carlo Tizzano, 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Max Douglas, 4 Hugh Sinclair, 3 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 2 David Porecki, 1 Angus Bell

16 Tom Horton, 17 Te Tera Faulkner, 18 Darcy Breen, 19 Sam Caird, 20 Jeremy Williams, 21 Charlie Gamble, 22 Jack Grant, 23 Tane Edmed

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.