Super Rugby

NSW Waratahs beat Western Force in Perth




The Western Force has won two of their three meetings against the NSW Waratahs since the beginning of 2021 after logging just one win from five attempts against them from 2016 to 2020.

The Western Force have won four of their last five Super Rugby games against the NSW Waratahs at HBF Park, including their last two on the bounce; they won by just a single point in their last meeting at the venue (31-30 in Round 9, Super Rugby AU 2021).

  • The Force have lost their last two Super Rugby games by just a single point; only once in Super Rugby history has any team had three consecutive games decided by one point (Kings, W2 L1 in July 2017)
  • The Waratahs have won three of their last four Super Rugby games which is more than they had won in their 18 games in the competition prior.
  • NSW will be looking to log back-to-back wins away from home in Super Rugby for the first time since May 2019 after logging a 38-14 win over Fijian Drua at Cbus Super Stadium in their last away game in the competition (Round 7, 2022).
  • The Force have made five offloads per game in the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific season, the fewest of any team in the competition and three per game fewer than the Tahs (8).
  • Only Moana Pasifika (12.1) have conceded fewer turnovers per game than NSW (12.5) and Force (13.2) this campaign.
  • The Perth men have an 82% goalkicking accuracy on placekicks (28/34) in 2022, the best rate of any team and six percentage points higher than the Sydney side (76%).

Players to watch

  • Charlie Gamble has been the first player to arrive at 112 of his team’s rucks this Super Rugby Pacific season, the second-most by any player in the competition (Tom Christie – 136 for Crusaders).
  • Manasa Mataele has crossed the gain line on 53 carries in the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific season, the most of any back and the second most of any player overall (Harry Wilson – 66).

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEP! We are underway at HBF Park, Perth.

3.00: The Force wins a turnover after they stop a promising Waratahs’ attack.

5.00: PENALTY! Tane Edmed opens the scoring. 0-3

7.00: TRY! Mark Nawaqanitawase intercepts Ian Prior’s loose pass, and races half the field to score under the sticks. 0-8

8.00: CONVERSION! Edmed adds the extras. 0-10

9.00: Waratahs win a turnover penalty at the ruck after Harry Johnson-Holmes gets his hands on the ball.

10.00: TRY! The Tahs are ripping the Force apart. Edmed ghosts through Richard Kahui and Kane Koteka straightens and draws Jake Strachan before sending Lalakai Foketi under the posts. 0-15

11.00: CONVERSION! Edmed knocks it over. 0-17

13.00: Santiago Medrano is pinged for a chop tackle Harry Johnson-Holmes. Edmed kicks to the 22.

14.00: TRY! Michael Hooper picks and goes untouched from the ruck to score under the posts for his 29th Super Rugby five-pointer. 0-22

15.00: CONVERSION! Edmed can’t miss. 0-24

17.00: Manasa Mataele slips a tackle, but loses possession in contact for an NSW scrum.

20.00: TRY! A series of penalties lead to Reesjan Pasitoa taking Manasa Mataele’s pop-pass to score next to the posts. 5-24

21.00: CONVERSION! Prior adds the extras. 7-24

24.00: It’s a bit scrappy in Perth, the game is riddled with errors.

27.00: All Force at the minute, the Tahs have fallen away in the last 10 minutes; this is not over!

29.00: A three-minute, 26-phase attack ends when the Force plays the ball on the ground and gives up a gilt-edged opportunity to score again.

32.00: Tahs under pressure at HBF, but the home team can’t get through the wall.

36.00: Waratahs have slipped off the pace, the Force are all over them.

38.00: Take away the three quick tries, and you’d swear the hosts were the team up by three scores.

41.00: The ball is booted to touch for a much-needed breather.

The halftime score was Force 7 Waratahs 24

41.00: PEEEP! We are back underway down under.

43.00: Tahs go close, but are pinged for offside.

45.00: The Waratahs have botched one of the easiest scores of the season with some more shoddy passing.

47.00: TRY! Tim Anstee drives his way over the try line after bumping off Hugh Sinclair and Tane Edmed following the driving maul. 12-24

49.00: MISS! Prior shaves the righthand upright. 12-24

51.00: TRY! Dave Porecki flops over the whitewash after a driving maul. 12-29

52.00: CONVERSION! Edmed curls his kick through the poles. 12-31

55.00: this gane is crazy, end-to-end.

59.00: Both teams have won a scrum penalty in the last few phases, and the forwards are mauling each other to bits – insane!

61.00: Coleman’s men are back on song, looking for the game-killing try, but another attack ends with a mistake.

62.00: YELLOW CARD! A botched lineout still leads to a penalty and yellow card for Pasitoa for cynical play on the floor. 19-31

63.00: TRY! Newsome goes over in the corner from the scrum. 19-36

64.00: MISS! The kick is wide. 19-36

67.00: TRY! Waratahs get another after winning a turnover after the restart. It’s Newsome again. 19-41

68.00: MISS! Edmed misses another. 19-41

71.00: A couple of penalties leads to the home team going for another maul.

72.00: YELLOW CARD! Mahe Vailanu is in the bin for a chop tackle on Greg Holmes. 19-41

75.00: YELLOW CARD! Foketi is off. 19-41

76.00: TRY! Prior goes to the left, sending a beautigul pass to Pasitoa from the right, to grab his second. 24-41

77.00: MISS! The kick is wide. 24-41

80.00: Nawaqanitawase knocks on a stray pass, and that’s the game.


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Western Force 24 (7) Waratahs 41 (24)


Western Force
Tries – Pasitoa (2), Anstee, Ready
Pen –
Con – Prior (2)
Drop –
Cards – Pasitoa (Yellow, 62′)

Tries – Nawaqanitawase, Foketi, Hooper, Porecki, Newsome (2)
Pen – Edmed
Con – Edmed (4)
Drop –
Cards – Vailanu (Yellow, 72′), Foketi (Yellow, 76′)

Match Officials
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1: Graham Cooper
Assistant Ref 2: Matt Kellahan
TMO: Kyle Burnett


Western Force: 15 Jake Strachan, 14 Byran Ralston, 13 Kyle Godwin (captain), 12 Richard Kahui, 11 Manasa Mataele, 10 Reesjan Pasitoa, 9 Ian Prior, 8 Brynard Stander, 7 Kane Koteka, 6 Tim Anstee, 5 Ryan McCauley, 4 Fergus Lee-Warner, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Andrew Ready, 1 Harrison Lloyd.

Replacements: 16 Jack Winchester, 17 Bo Abra, 18 Greg Holmes, 19 Jackson Pugh, 20 Ollie Callan, 21 Michael McDonald, 22 Jake McIntrye, 23 Brad Lacey.

Waratahs: 15 Alex Newsome, 14 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 13 Izaia Perese, 12 Lalakai Foketi, 11 Dylan Pietsch, 10 Tane Edmed, 9 Jake Gordon (captain), 8 Will Harris, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Charlie Gamble, 5 Hugh Sinclair, 4 Jed Holloway, 3 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 2 Dave Porecki, 1 Angus Bell.

16 Mahe Vailanu, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Archer Holz, 19 Geoff Cridge, 20 Rahboni Warren-Yosayaco, 21 Jack Grant, 22 Will Harrison, 23 Jamie Roberts.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.