Currie Cup

Western Province beat Blue Bulls in Currie Cup



Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Western Province beat the Blue Bulls 18-29  in the Currie Cup at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday afternoon.

The result is an extraordinary one as in the 34th minute Western Province were reduced to 14 men as Michael Rhodes was shown a red card.

The visitors put the first points on the board with flyhalf Kurt Coleman slotting over a penalty four minutes into the match.

His counterpart Handre Pollard leveled the scores seven minutes later with a drop goal with the ball bouncing off the right upright before it went over the crossbar.

Province were in rampant form in the scrums where the Bulls pack creaked under the pressure from the visitors.

Their scrum proved to be a deciding factor as they scored their first try off a penalty against the Bulls in this facet of play.

In the 13th minute Province scrumhalf Louis Schreuder took a quick tap from the scrum penalty with the visitors setting up a few phases.

Nippy fullback Gio Aplon rounded off the passage of play as he received the ball at pace shortly before the line to touch down for the try, with Coleman converting (10-3).

The Bulls had two opportunities to close the gap on the scoreboard, however, Pollard missed two penalty kicks within striking distance seven minutes apart.

To rub salt in the wounds, Coleman had no problem with his kick at goal in the 27th minute to extend their lead to 10 points.

Three minutes later Pollard restored the status quo with a penalty conversion on the half-hour mark.

The match took a dramatic turn when Michael Rhodes received his marching orders as match-referee Marius Jonker pulled out a red card for “dangerous use of the boot”.

Bulls captain Jono Ross got a boot to the face as he attempted to tackle Rhodes. While it could not be determined whether there was intent from Rhodes, it was nevertheless dangerous.

This left Province playing the 45 minutes that was left in the match with a player short.

The disadvantage did not stymie Province’s momentum as they replied with a try three minutes from the half-time break.

Centre Juan de Jongh turned the ball over at the breakdown and sent it wide with his midfield partner Damian de Allende kicking the ball ahead.

Cheslin Kolbe fielded on the sideline and offloaded to De Allende on his inside to trot through for the try, with Coleman converting for a 20-6 advantage at the break.

The Bulls made an encouraging start to the second half with Ross taking a pass close to the line at speed to score in the 43rd minute after they set up a few good phases.

Pollard converted the try to bring his side within seven points of the visitors, but Coleman pulled back three more points with a penalty conversion four minutes later.

The hosts missed another opportunity to score when lock Paul Willemse lost the ball on the try line after the forwards executed a good drive from a lineout.

Just before the last quarter, the match took another turn with Bulls replacement flanker Jacques Engelbrecht receiving a yellow card for a high tackle.

While Coleman missed the penalty kick, his replacement Gary van Aswegen added insult to injury for the Bulls with two penalty conversions to stretch their lead to 29-13.

The Bulls launched a late fightback with David Bullbring getting over the whitewash four minutes from time, with Pollard missing the conversion kick.

Final Score Blue Bulls 18 (6) Western Province 29 (20)


Blue Bulls
Tries – J. Ross, D.Bullbring
Pen – H. Pollard
Con – H.Pollard
Drop – H.Pollard

Western Province
Tries – G.Aplon. Allende
Pen – K.Coleman 3, G.van Aswegen 2
Con – K.Coleman 2
Drop –

Match Officials
Marius Jonker
Assistant Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge, Sieg van Staden
TMO: Johan Greeff with Pieter de Bruin in training


Blue Bulls: 15. Jurgen Visser, 14. Sampie Mastriet, 13. Waylon Murray, 12. Francois Venter, 11. Akona Ndungane, 10. Handre Pollard, 9. Rudy Paige, 8. Jono Ross (c), 7. Jacques du Plessis, 6. Wiaan Liebenberg, 5. Grant Hattingh, 4. Paul Willemse, 3. Frik Kirsten, 2. Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1. Marcel van der Merwe

Replacements:16. Bandise Maku, 17. Dean Greyling, 18. David Bulbring, 19. Jacques Engelbrecht, 20. Lohan Jacobs, 21. William Small-Smith, 22. Clayton Blommetjies.

Western Province: Gio Aplon; Gerhard van den Heever, Juan de Jongh, Damian de Allende, Cheslin Kolbe; Kurt Coleman, Louis Schreuder; Nizaam Carr, Michael Rhodes, Rynhardt Elstadt; De Kock Steenkamp (capt), Taz Fuzani; Pat Cilliers, Scarra Ntubeni, Steven Kitshoff.

Replacements: Michael Willemse, Brok Harris, Gerbrandt Grobler, Rohan Kitshoff, Nic Groom, Gary van Aswegen, Michael van der Spuy.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.