Super Rugby

Wright stars as Brumbies nil Western Force




The Brumbies beat the Force 0-24 in round four of Super Rugby AU at Leichhardt Oval, Sydney.

Tom Wright, Irae Simone, Will Miller and Connal McInerney all crossed for the Brumbies. Wright had a barnstorming game and was involved in the first three scores.

The winger wracked up 131 run metres from 13 attacks, beating six defenders with two clean breaks as he registered a try and assist. He could not be stopped.

The Force, although, never out of the contest, never really looked like scoring.

It is only the second time in Super Rugby that the Force has been kept scoreless since 2007 against the Crusaders.

The victory is the eighth in a row going back to 2013 for the Brumbies versus the Western Force and puts the unbeaten capital side top of the Super rugby AU table.

The Force, after two years out of Super Rugby, is yet to get a win under their belt and sit bottom of the Australian log after three defeats.

Brumbies start hot with Wright, Powell and Samu wreaking havoc on the left-wing.

The Brumbies flew out the blocks, scoring two tries from deep inside their half in the opening six minutes.

Wright and Simone both dotted down following breakouts from inside their 22.

Pete Samu picked up from the base of the scrum before popping to Joe Powell, who combined with Rob Valetini and Tevita Kuridrani.

Kuridrani broke a tackle before sending Wright away down the sideline for the score. Four minutes later, Dan McKellar’s side doubled their lead.

The Brumbies went 85 metres with some intricate inter-passing between backs and forwards, Samu and Wright before the winger played Powell, who sent Simone away.

Bayley Kuenzle added a conversion as the ACT franchise took hold of the early proceedings.

The rest of the half was a series of lineout mistakes, scrum penalties and infringements at the breakdown that kept the Brumbies on the backfoot as the Force grew into the game.

Kuenzle and Will Miller both won crucial turnovers that kept the Perth team out.

But the Brumbies had problems of their own; their driving maul wasn’t functioning as well as it normally does, although, the Western Force’s pack defended the maul expertly.

The Canberra side eschewed a late first-half penalty for a driving maul; however, the attack came to nothing after the maul fractured.

Wright knocked on in contact trying to goose-step through the defence, the Force won a scrum-penalty and cleared to touch.

Brumbies start the second stanza as they began the first with a try.

Simone won his team a 50-22 after a botched attack near the Brumbies’ 22. From the resulting lineout and series of attacks, the ACT team crossed for their third try of the evening.

The ball was sent to Wright, who sucked in two defenders before sending Miller away in the corner. Miller was not held in the tackle, got up, and crashed over in the corner.

Kuenzle slotted the touchline conversion to make it 0-19.

Super Rugby AU Round Four Video Highlights: Western Force versus Brumbies at Leichhardt Oval, Sydney

The Brumbies, like the first-half, could not make the most of all their territory and possession, but handling errors and devil-like defence by the Force kept them from getting more.

The Perth side kept defending as though they were defending a one-point lead. A 24-phase attack was repelled, pushing the Brumbies from their try-line to the 22.

Their resolve was eventually broken when McInerney flopped over the chalk with less than 14 minutes remaining following a powerful driving maul.

It was the first time the Brumbies got their great attacking weapon going, and the reserve hooker got up with the ball.

Tim Sampson’s charges kept coming but they could not find a way across the whitewash.

For them, it’s back to the drawing board, while the Brumbies march on.

Final Score: Western Force 0 (0) Brumbies 24 (12)


Western Force
Tries –
Pen –
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Wright, Simone, Miller, McInerney
Pen –
Con – Kuenzle (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Damon Murphy
Assistant Ref 1: Amy Perrett
Assistant Ref 2: Angus Gardner
TMO: George Ayoub



15 Jack McGregor, 14 Byron Ralston, 13 Marcel Brache, 12 Henry Taefu, 11 Brad Lacey, 10 Jono Lance, 9 Nick Frisby, 8 Brynard Stander, 7 Tevin Ferris, 6 Henry Stowers, 5 Fergus Lee-Warner, 4 Jeremy Thrush (Captain), 3 Kieran Longbottom, 2 Feleti Kaitu’u, 1 Angus Wagner.

Replacements: 16 Andrew Ready, 17 Chris Heiberg, 18 Tom Sheminant, 19 Ollie Atkins, 20 Ollie Callan, 21 Jacob Abel, 22 Richard Kahui, 23 Kyle Godwin.


15 Tom Banks, 14 Solomone Kata, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Tom Wright, 10 Bayley Kuenzle, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Pete Samu, 7 Will Miller, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Nick Frost, 4 Murray Douglas, 3 Allan Alaalatoa (captain), 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Scott Sio.

Replacements: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Harry Lloyd, 18 James Slipper, 19 Ben Hyne, 20 Lachlan McCaffrey, 21 Issak Fines, 22 Mack Hansen, 23 Andy Muirhead.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.